Dysart Harbour
Dysart, Fife · Firth of Forth
Prices not published
Places that take cruisers. River and estuary motor cruisers.
47 sites · 2 with space now · 4 with a waiting list · typical £2,086 a year for a 10m cruiser (£78–£6,204 across 34 published tariffs)
Dysart, Fife · Firth of Forth
Prices not published
Kenmore, Perth and Kinross · Loch Tay
Prices on request
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Tayport, Fife · River Tay estuary
Prices not published
Tobermory, Argyll and Bute · Tobermory Bay
Prices not published
Dunbar, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£2,389 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,518 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Loch Roag
£650 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Laggan, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£1,705 a year for a 10m cruiser
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Reddingmuirhead, Falkirk · Union Canal
£1,565 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bellanoch, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
Prices not published
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour
Prices not published
Benderloch, Argyll and Bute · Loch Creran
Prices not published
Cullen, Moray · Cullen Harbour
Prices not published
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Granton Harbour
Prices not published
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
Prices not published
Portree, Highland · Loch Portree
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 10m cruiser | Space |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dysart Harbour | Dysart, Firth of Forth | – | A few berths left |
| Taymouth Marina | Kenmore, Loch Tay | On request | Berths available |
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £2,350 | Waiting list |
| Tayport Harbour | Tayport, River Tay estuary | – | Waiting list |
| Tobermory Harbour | Tobermory, Tobermory Bay | – | Waiting list |
| Victoria Harbour | Dunbar, Firth of Forth | £580 | Waiting list |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,165 | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,598 | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | Not reported |
| Cadder Wharf | Bishopbriggs, Forth & Clyde Canal | – | Not reported |
| Cairnbaan Lock 5 | Cairnbaan, Crinan Canal | £2,025 | Not reported |
| Craobh Marina | Lochgilphead, Craobh Haven | £4,440 | Not reported |
| Dubh Thòb Pontoons | Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Loch Roag | £650 | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £2,708 | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £2,207 | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £4,440 | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £413 | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,751 | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £6,204 | Not reported |
| Laggan Avenue | Laggan, Caledonian Canal | £1,705 | Not reported |
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | Not reported |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £4,970 | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,115 | Not reported |
| Mallaig Yachting Marina | Mallaig, Mallaig Harbour | £1,285 | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,500 | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | £2,630 | Not reported |
| Reddingmuirhead | Reddingmuirhead, Union Canal | £901 | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,070 | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,035 | Not reported |
| Bellanoch Marina | Bellanoch, Crinan Canal | £2,201 | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,108 | Not reported |
| Castlebay Marina | Castlebay, Castlebay Harbour | – | Not reported |
| Creran Moorings | Benderloch, Loch Creran | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 34 cruiser moorings here that publish a price, a 10m cruiser costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £6,204 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £2,086 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m cruiser, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
2 of the 47 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Dysart Harbour and Taymouth Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
6 of the 47 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 21 need a Scottish Canals licence, 1 need lake registration where the lake authority requires it and 3 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability