Lerwick Port Authority
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Every site here with a published price, cheapest first, worked out for the same boat so the figures compare. Places that take cruisers. River and estuary motor cruisers.
34 sites · 2 with a waiting list · typical £2,086 a year for a 10m cruiser (£78–£6,204 across 34 published tariffs)
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunbar, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Loch Roag
£650 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Reddingmuirhead, Falkirk · Union Canal
£1,565 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Laggan, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£1,705 a year for a 10m cruiser
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,518 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bellanoch, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
Prices not published
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
| Site | Where | A year, 10m cruiser | Per metre a year | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | £7.77 | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | £27.26 | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £413 | £41.30 | Not reported |
| Victoria Harbour | Dunbar, Firth of Forth | £580 | £58 | Waiting list |
| Dubh Thòb Pontoons | Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Loch Roag | £650 | £65 | Not reported |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | £75 | Not reported |
| Reddingmuirhead | Reddingmuirhead, Union Canal | £901 | £90.12 | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,035 | £103.49 | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,115 | £111.45 | Not reported |
| Mallaig Yachting Marina | Mallaig, Mallaig Harbour | £1,285 | £128.50 | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,500 | £150 | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | £168 | Not reported |
| Laggan Avenue | Laggan, Caledonian Canal | £1,705 | £170.52 | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,751 | £175.14 | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | £175.80 | Not reported |
| Cairnbaan Lock 5 | Cairnbaan, Crinan Canal | £2,025 | £202.51 | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,070 | £206.97 | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | £210.27 | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,165 | £216.53 | Not reported |
| Bellanoch Marina | Bellanoch, Crinan Canal | £2,201 | £220.08 | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £2,207 | £220.67 | Not reported |
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £2,350 | £235 | Waiting list |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | £247.20 | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,598 | £259.83 | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | £2,630 | £263.02 | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,702 | £270.24 | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £2,708 | £270.82 | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | £310.40 | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,108 | £310.79 | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | £374 | Not reported |
| Craobh Marina | Lochgilphead, Craobh Haven | £4,440 | £444 | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £4,440 | £444 | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £4,970 | £497 | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £6,204 | £620.40 | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 34 cheapest cruiser moorings here that publish a price, a 10m cruiser costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £6,204 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £2,086 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m cruiser, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
None of the 34 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
6 of the 34 say you can: Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent) and Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 19 need a Scottish Canals licence and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability