Moorings and marinas on the River Great Ouse

The River Great Ouse runs 194.8km from Brackley to Chittering, past Bedford, St Neots, Huntingdon, St Ives, Brackley and Newport Pagnell. It meets New Cut. Boats here need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways) as well as a mooring. 11 sites on it, with the ones that have told us they have space first.

11 sites · 2 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £2,456 a year for a 10m boat (£2,266–£2,646 across 2 published tariffs)

Licence: Environment Agency. About licences

At a glance

Rivers A few berths left

Huntingdon Boathaven

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire · River Great Ouse

Prices on request

Seen on their website 8 days ago

Rivers Berths available

Priory Waterside & Marina

Bedford, Bedfordshire · River Great Ouse

Prices on request

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Canals Waiting list

Great Linford moorings

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire · Grand Union Canal

Prices on request

Seen on their website 8 days ago

Canals Full

Black Horse L1 Leisure

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire · Grand Union Canal

Prices not published

Seen on their website 8 days ago

Rivers

Crosshall Marina

St Neots, Cambridgeshire · River Great Ouse

£2,646 a year for a 10m cruiser

Rivers

Hartford Marina

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire · River Great Ouse

£2,266 a year for a 10m cruiser

Rivers

Jones Boatyard

St Ives, Cambridgeshire · River Great Ouse

Prices on request

Rivers

Pike & Eel Marina

Needingworth, Cambridgeshire · River Great Ouse

Prices not published

Rivers

River Mill Marina

Eaton Socon, Cambridgeshire · River Great Ouse

Prices not published

Course, length and connections from OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Close to River Great Ouse

On other water, within 5km of it.

Compared: prices for a 10m boat

SiteWhereA year, 10m boatSpace
Huntingdon BoathavenHuntingdon, River Great OuseOn requestA few berths left
Priory Waterside & MarinaBedford, River Great OuseOn requestBerths available
Great Linford mooringsMilton Keynes, Grand Union CanalOn requestWaiting list
Black Horse L1 LeisureMilton Keynes, Grand Union Canal–Full
Crosshall MarinaSt Neots, River Great Ouse£2,646Not reported
Hartford MarinaHuntingdon, River Great Ouse£2,266Not reported
Buckden Waterside & MarinaBuckden, River Great OuseOn requestNot reported
Jones BoatyardSt Ives, River Great OuseOn requestNot reported
Pike & Eel MarinaNeedingworth, River Great Ouse–Not reported
River Mill MarinaEaton Socon, River Great Ouse–Not reported
Westview Marina & Leisure ParkEarith, River Great OuseOn requestNot reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

How much does a mooring for a 10m boat cost on the River Great Ouse?

Across the 2 moorings and marinas here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £2,266 a year at Hartford Marina to £2,646 a year at Crosshall Marina. The middle figure is £2,456 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.

What are the cheapest moorings and marinas on the River Great Ouse?

For a 10m boat, Hartford Marina is cheapest at £2,266 a year in Huntingdon.

Which moorings and marinas on the River Great Ouse have space now?

2 of the 11 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Huntingdon Boathaven and Priory Waterside & Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.

Can you live aboard at moorings and marinas on the River Great Ouse?

2 of the 11 say you can: Priory Waterside & Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Buckden Waterside & Marina (liveaboards allowed). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 2 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence and 9 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways). Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Moorings and marinas on other waterways

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability