Ardoran Marine
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Places that take cruisers. River and estuary motor cruisers. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
33 sites · 1 with a waiting list · typical £2,503 a year for a 12m boat (£78–£7,440 across 28 published tariffs)
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£2,389 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Laggan, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£1,705 a year for a 10m cruiser
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Reddingmuirhead, Falkirk · Union Canal
£1,565 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bellanoch, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
Prices not published
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour
Prices not published
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £2,820 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,598 | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £3,118 | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,110 | 19m (62ft) | 3.5m | 1.6m | Not reported |
| Cadder Wharf | Bishopbriggs, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,650 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £3,250 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £2,648 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £5,328 | 13m (43ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £652 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,102 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £7,440 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Laggan Avenue | Laggan, Caledonian Canal | £2,046 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,523 | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £5,964 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,337 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,800 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | – | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Reddingmuirhead | Reddingmuirhead, Union Canal | £1,081 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,484 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | Glasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,104 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,242 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bellanoch Marina | Bellanoch, Crinan Canal | £2,641 | 14m (46ft) | 3.5m | – | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,415 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Castlebay Marina | Castlebay, Castlebay Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gourdon Harbour | Gourdon, North Sea, Gourdon Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Harrison Park | Edinburgh, Union Canal | – | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rosehearty Harbour | Rosehearty, North Sea | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £3,243 | 16m (52ft) | 4m | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 28 cruiser moorings for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £7,440 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £2,503 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
None of the 33 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 33 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Ardoran Marine (14m (46ft)), Ardrishaig Basin (26.8m (88ft)), Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock (26.8m (88ft)), Auchinstarry Marina (19m (62ft)), Cadder Wharf (19m (62ft)), Fort Augustus (45m (148ft)), Gairlochy (45m (148ft)), Holy Loch Marina (13m (43ft)) and 25 more. Check beam and draught too.
6 of the 33 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 20 need a Scottish Canals licence and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability