Ardoran Marine
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Places that take cruisers. River and estuary motor cruisers. Sites that sell diesel on site, at a fuel berth or from the boatyard.
18 sites · 3 with a waiting list · typical £2,070 a year for a 10m cruiser (£273–£6,204 across 17 published tariffs)
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Tobermory, Argyll and Bute · Tobermory Bay
Prices not published
Dunbar, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 10m cruiser | Diesel | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £2,350 | Yes | Waiting list |
| Tobermory Harbour | Tobermory, Tobermory Bay | – | Yes | Waiting list |
| Victoria Harbour | Dunbar, Firth of Forth | £580 | Yes | Waiting list |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | Yes | Not reported |
| Craobh Marina | Lochgilphead, Craobh Haven | £4,440 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,751 | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £6,204 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £4,970 | Yes | Not reported |
| Mallaig Yachting Marina | Mallaig, Mallaig Harbour | £1,285 | Yes | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,500 | Yes | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,070 | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,035 | Yes | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,108 | Yes | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,702 | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 17 cruiser moorings with diesel here that publish a price, a 10m cruiser costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £6,204 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £2,070 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m cruiser, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.
None of the 18 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
5 of the 18 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 8 need a Scottish Canals licence and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability