Cruiser moorings with a pump-out in Scotland

Places that take cruisers. River and estuary motor cruisers. Sites with a pump-out for holding tanks, so you can empty without cruising to a service point.

12 sites · typical £2,350 a year for a 10m cruiser (£273–£4,970 across 12 published tariffs)

At a glance

Canals

Auchinstarry Marina

Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal

£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Fort Augustus

Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal

£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Canals

Kelpies Marina

Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal

£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Kirkintilloch Linear

Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal

£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Canals

Lochrin Basin

Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal

£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Lock 16 Moorings

Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal

£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Canals

Ratho Marina

Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal

£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Canals

Southbank Marina

Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal

£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Speirs Wharf

Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal

£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Bowling Lower Basin

Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal

Prices not published

Canals

Seaport Marina

Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal

Prices not published

Liveaboard

Compared: prices for a 10m cruiser

SiteWhereA year, 10m cruiserPump-outSpace
Auchinstarry MarinaKilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal£1,758YesNot reported
Fort AugustusFort Augustus, Caledonian Canal£2,708YesNot reported
Kelpies MarinaFalkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal£273YesNot reported
Kirkintilloch LinearKirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal£1,751YesNot reported
Lochrin BasinEdinburgh, Union Canal£4,970YesNot reported
Lock 16 MooringsFalkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal£1,115YesNot reported
Ratho MarinaRatho, Union Canal£2,630YesNot reported
Southbank MarinaKirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal£2,070YesNot reported
Speirs WharfGlasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal£3,104YesNot reported
The Falkirk Wheel LinearFalkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal£1,035YesNot reported
Bowling Lower BasinBowling, Forth & Clyde Canal£3,108YesNot reported
Seaport MarinaInverness, Caledonian Canal£2,702YesNot reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

How much does a mooring for a 10m cruiser cost in Scotland?

Across the 12 cruiser moorings with a pump-out here that publish a price, a 10m cruiser costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £4,970 a year at Lochrin Basin. The middle figure is £2,350 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.

What are the cheapest cruiser moorings with a pump-out in Scotland?

For a 10m cruiser, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.

Which cruiser moorings with a pump-out in Scotland have space now?

None of the 12 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.

Can you live aboard at cruiser moorings with a pump-out in Scotland?

6 of the 12 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 12 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Cruiser moorings with a pump-out in other areas

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability