Cruiser moorings that allow liveaboards in Scotland

Places that take cruisers. River and estuary motor cruisers. Moorings where the site says you can live on board, outright or by arrangement. Residential moorings often need planning consent and pay council tax; we show the terms as each site states them.

6 sites · typical £2,386 a year for a 10m cruiser (£273–£4,970 across 6 published tariffs)

At a glance

Canals

Auchinstarry Marina

Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal

£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Kelpies Marina

Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal

£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Lochrin Basin

Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal

£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Southbank Marina

Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal

£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Speirs Wharf

Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal

£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Seaport Marina

Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal

Prices not published

Liveaboard

Compared: prices for a 10m cruiser

SiteWhereA year, 10m cruiserLiveaboardSpace
Auchinstarry MarinaKilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal£1,758Residential moorings with planning consentNot reported
Kelpies MarinaFalkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal£273Liveaboards allowedNot reported
Lochrin BasinEdinburgh, Union Canal£4,970Residential moorings with planning consentNot reported
Southbank MarinaKirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal£2,070Residential moorings with planning consentNot reported
Speirs WharfGlasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal£3,104Residential moorings with planning consentNot reported
Seaport MarinaInverness, Caledonian Canal£2,702Residential moorings with planning consentNot reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

How much does a mooring for a 10m cruiser cost in Scotland?

Across the 6 cruiser moorings that allow liveaboards here that publish a price, a 10m cruiser costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £4,970 a year at Lochrin Basin. The middle figure is £2,386 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.

What are the cheapest cruiser moorings that allow liveaboards in Scotland?

For a 10m cruiser, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.

Which cruiser moorings that allow liveaboards in Scotland have space now?

None of the 6 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.

Can you live aboard at cruiser moorings that allow liveaboards in Scotland?

All 6 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 6 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Cruiser moorings that allow liveaboards in other areas

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability