Craighouse Moorings
Craighouse, Argyll and Bute · Small Isles Bay
Prices not published
Salt water: open-coast marinas and harbours, and the estuaries and tidal rivers behind them.
83 sites · 8 with space now · 7 with a waiting list · typical £1,840 a year for a 10m boat (£78–£6,204 across 52 published tariffs)
Craighouse, Argyll and Bute · Small Isles Bay
Prices not published
Dysart, Fife · Firth of Forth
Prices not published
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Nairn, Highland · Moray Firth
£1,545 a year for a 10m yacht
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Sandhaven, Aberdeenshire · Moray Firth
Prices not published
Whitehills, Aberdeenshire · Moray Firth
£1,800 a year for a 10m yacht
Wick, Highland · North Sea
Prices not published
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Portmahomack, Highland · Dornoch Firth
£1,545 a year for a 10m yacht
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour
Prices not published
Tayport, Fife · River Tay estuary
Prices not published
Tobermory, Argyll and Bute · Tobermory Bay
Prices not published
Dunbar, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Arbroath, Angus · North Sea coast, Angus
£1,810 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute · Loch Craignish
£3,020 a year for a 10m yacht
Berneray, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Sound of Harris
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunbar, East Lothian · North Sea, Dunbar Harbour
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Cockenzie, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£480 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Loch Roag
£650 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Musselburgh, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£400 a year for a 10m yacht
Gairloch, Highland · Loch Gairloch
£403 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth
£3,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway · River Dee
£1,871 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Largs, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£6,030 a year for a 10m yacht
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Lossiemouth, Moray · Moray Firth
£2,157 a year for a 10m yacht
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,918 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
South Queensferry, City of Edinburgh · Firth of Forth
£3,156 a year for a 10m yacht
Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway · Irish Sea, Portpatrick
£880 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Rothesay, Argyll and Bute · Rothesay Harbour
£3,420 a year for a 10m yacht
Helensburgh, Argyll and Bute · Gare Loch
£2,592 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,598 a year for a 10m yacht
Stromness, Orkney Islands · Stromness Harbour
£6,012 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort William, Highland · Loch Linnhe
£4,050 a year for a 10m yacht
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Pierowall, Orkney Islands · Pierowall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Aith, Shetland Islands · Aith Voe
Prices not published
Linlithgow, Falkirk · River Forth
Prices on request
Brae, Shetland Islands · Busta Voe
Prices not published
Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour
Prices not published
Cellardyke, Fife · Firth of Forth
Prices on request
Crinan, Argyll and Bute · Loch Crinan
Prices not published
Cullen, Moray · Cullen Harbour
Prices not published
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Dunstaffnage Bay, Firth of Lorn
Prices on request
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Granton Harbour
Prices not published
Fairlie, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
Prices not published
Findhorn, Moray · Findhorn Bay
Prices not published
Findochty, Moray · Moray Firth
Prices not published
Granton, Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Firth of Forth
Prices on request
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Helmsdale, Highland · Moray Firth
Prices on request
Johnshaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Johnshaven
Prices not published
Virkie, Shetland Islands · Pool of Virkie
Prices not published
Port Ellen, Argyll and Bute · Port Ellen Harbour
Prices not published
Portree, Highland · Loch Portree
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
Skeld, Shetland Islands · Skeld Voe
Prices not published
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway · Urr Water
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 10m boat | Space |
|---|---|---|---|
| Craighouse Moorings | Craighouse, Small Isles Bay | – | Berths available |
| Dysart Harbour | Dysart, Firth of Forth | – | A few berths left |
| Kilmelford Yacht Haven | Kilmelford, Loch Melfort | – | Berths available |
| Nairn Harbour | Nairn, Moray Firth | £1,545 | Berths available |
| Port Bannatyne Marina | Port Bannatyne, Kyles of Bute | £3,997 | Berths available |
| Sandhaven Harbour | Sandhaven, Moray Firth | – | Berths available |
| Whitehills Marina | Whitehills, Moray Firth | £1,800 | Berths available |
| Wick Marina | Wick, North Sea | – | Berths available |
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £2,350 | Waiting list |
| Burghead Harbour | Burghead, Moray Firth | £893 | Waiting list |
| Portmahomack Harbour | Portmahomack, Dornoch Firth | £1,545 | Waiting list |
| Stonehaven Harbour | Stonehaven, North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour | – | Waiting list |
| Tayport Harbour | Tayport, River Tay estuary | – | Waiting list |
| Tobermory Harbour | Tobermory, Tobermory Bay | – | Waiting list |
| Victoria Harbour | Dunbar, Firth of Forth | £580 | Waiting list |
| Arbroath Harbour | Arbroath, North Sea coast, Angus | £1,810 | Not reported |
| Ardfern Yacht Centre | Ardfern, Loch Craignish | £3,020 | Not reported |
| Berneray Harbour | Berneray, Sound of Harris | £413 | Not reported |
| Broad Haven (Dunbar Harbour) | Dunbar, North Sea, Dunbar Harbour | £580 | Not reported |
| Buckie Harbour | Buckie, Moray Firth | £893 | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £5,520 | Not reported |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £4,530 | Not reported |
| Cockenzie Harbour | Cockenzie, Firth of Forth | £480 | Not reported |
| Craobh Marina | Lochgilphead, Craobh Haven | £4,440 | Not reported |
| Dubh Thòb Pontoons | Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Loch Roag | £650 | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £103 | Not reported |
| Fisherrow Harbour | Musselburgh, Firth of Forth | £400 | Not reported |
| Gairloch Harbour | Gairloch, Loch Gairloch | £403 | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £807 | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £4,440 | Not reported |
| Hopeman Harbour | Hopeman, Moray Firth | £717 | Not reported |
| Inverness Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth | £3,100 | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £3,180 | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £413 | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £4,620 | Not reported |
| Kirkcudbright Marina | Kirkcudbright, River Dee | £1,871 | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £6,204 | Not reported |
| Largs Yacht Haven | Largs, Firth of Clyde | £6,030 | Not reported |
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 52 coastal moorings here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £6,204 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £1,840 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
8 of the 83 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Craighouse Moorings, Dysart Harbour, Kilmelford Yacht Haven, Nairn Harbour, Port Bannatyne Marina, Sandhaven Harbour, Whitehills Marina and Wick Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
1 of the 83 say you can: Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Scottish Canals licence and 12 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability