Coastal moorings for boats over 20m in Scotland

Salt water: open-coast marinas and harbours, and the estuaries and tidal rivers behind them. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 20m (65ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.

24 sites · 2 with space now · 2 with a waiting list · typical £6,480 a year for a 20m boat (£206–£12,396 across 16 published tariffs)

At a glance

Coast & harbours Berths available

Kilmelford Yacht Haven

Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort

Prices not published

Seen on their website 8 days ago

Coast & harbours Berths available

Wick Marina

Wick, Highland · North Sea

Prices not published

Seen on their website 8 days ago

Coast & harbours Waiting list

Burghead Harbour

Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth

£893 a year for a 10m yacht

Seen on their website 8 days ago

Coast & harbours Waiting list

Stonehaven Harbour

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour

Prices not published

Seen on their website 8 days ago

Coast & harbours

Buckie Harbour

Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth

£893 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Campbeltown Marina

Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch

£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Clyde Marina

Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde

£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Eyemouth Harbour

Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour

£103 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Hopeman Harbour

Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth

£717 a year for a 10m yacht

Estuaries & tidal rivers

James Watt Marina

Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde

£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Kerrera Marina

Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn

£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Kip Marina

Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde

£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Kirkwall Marina

Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour

£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Peterhead Bay Marina

Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea

£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Portknockie Harbour

Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth

£717 a year for a 10m yacht

Estuaries & tidal rivers

Rhu Marina

Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde

£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Stromness Marina

Stromness, Orkney Islands · Stromness Harbour

£6,012 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Tarbert Harbour

Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne

£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Westray Marina

Pierowall, Orkney Islands · Pierowall Harbour

£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Castlebay Marina

Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour

Prices not published

Coast & harbours

Gourdon Harbour

Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour

Prices not published

Coast & harbours

Johnshaven Harbour

Johnshaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Johnshaven

Prices not published

Coast & harbours

Rosehearty Harbour

Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea

Prices not published

Estuaries & tidal rivers

Sandpoint Marina

Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven

Prices not published

Compared: prices for a 20m boat

SiteWhereA year, 20m boatLongest boatWidest beamDeepest draughtSpace
Kilmelford Yacht HavenKilmelford, Loch Melfort–20m (66ft)––Berths available
Wick MarinaWick, North Sea–20m (66ft)––Berths available
Burghead HarbourBurghead, Moray Firth£1,78620m (66ft)––Waiting list
Stonehaven HarbourStonehaven, North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour–20m (66ft)––Waiting list
Buckie HarbourBuckie, Moray Firth£1,78620m (66ft)––Not reported
Campbeltown MarinaCampbeltown, Campbeltown Loch£11,04033m (108ft)––Not reported
Clyde MarinaArdrossan, Firth of Clyde£9,06025m (82ft)––Not reported
Eyemouth HarbourEyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour£20620m (66ft)––Not reported
Hopeman HarbourHopeman, Moray Firth£1,43320m (66ft)––Not reported
James Watt MarinaGreenock, Firth of Clyde£6,360100m (328ft)––Not reported
Kerrera MarinaOban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn£6,58022m (72ft)––Not reported
Kip MarinaInverkip, Firth of Clyde£9,24024m (79ft)––Not reported
Kirkwall MarinaKirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour£12,39620m (66ft)––Not reported
Peterhead Bay MarinaPeterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea£3,00022m (72ft)––Not reported
Portknockie HarbourPortknockie, Moray Firth£1,43320m (66ft)––Not reported
Rhu MarinaRhu, Firth of Clyde£10,22036m (118ft)––Not reported
Stromness MarinaStromness, Stromness Harbour£12,02420m (66ft)––Not reported
Tarbert HarbourTarbert, Loch Fyne£6,38030m (98ft)––Not reported
Westray MarinaPierowall, Pierowall Harbour£12,39620m (66ft)––Not reported
Castlebay MarinaCastlebay, Castlebay Harbour–20m (66ft)––Not reported
Gourdon HarbourGourdon, North Sea, Gourdon Harbour–20m (66ft)––Not reported
Johnshaven HarbourJohnshaven, North Sea, Johnshaven–20m (66ft)––Not reported
Rosehearty HarbourRosehearty, North Sea–20m (66ft)––Not reported
Sandpoint MarinaDumbarton, River Leven–24.3m (80ft)––Not reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

How much does a mooring for a 20m boat cost in Scotland?

Across the 16 coastal moorings for boats over 20m here that publish a price, a 20m boat costs from £206 a year at Eyemouth Harbour to £12,396 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £6,480 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.

What are the cheapest coastal moorings for boats over 20m in Scotland?

For a 20m boat, Eyemouth Harbour is cheapest at £206 a year.

Which coastal moorings for boats over 20m in Scotland have space now?

2 of the 24 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Kilmelford Yacht Haven and Wick Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.

Where can I keep a boat over 20m (66ft) in Scotland?

All 24 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Kilmelford Yacht Haven (20m (66ft)), Wick Marina (20m (66ft)), Burghead Harbour (20m (66ft)), Stonehaven Harbour (20m (66ft)), Buckie Harbour (20m (66ft)), Campbeltown Marina (33m (108ft)), Clyde Marina (25m (82ft)), Eyemouth Harbour (20m (66ft)) and 16 more. Check beam and draught too.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 4 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Coastal moorings for boats over 20m in Scotland, by county

Coastal moorings for boats over 20m in other areas

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability