Dysart Harbour
Dysart, Fife · Firth of Forth
Prices not published
Salt water: open-coast marinas and harbours, and the estuaries and tidal rivers behind them. Berths you step off onto a pontoon, quay or bank: no tender, no rowing out to a buoy. Easier for loading, for a dog, and for getting aboard after dark.
71 sites · 7 with space now · 4 with a waiting list · typical £1,800 a year for a 10m boat (£78–£6,204 across 45 published tariffs)
Dysart, Fife · Firth of Forth
Prices not published
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Nairn, Highland · Moray Firth
£1,545 a year for a 10m yacht
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Sandhaven, Aberdeenshire · Moray Firth
Prices not published
Whitehills, Aberdeenshire · Moray Firth
£1,800 a year for a 10m yacht
Wick, Highland · North Sea
Prices not published
Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour
Prices not published
Tayport, Fife · River Tay estuary
Prices not published
Tobermory, Argyll and Bute · Tobermory Bay
Prices not published
Arbroath, Angus · North Sea coast, Angus
£1,810 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute · Loch Craignish
£3,020 a year for a 10m yacht
Berneray, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Sound of Harris
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunbar, East Lothian · North Sea, Dunbar Harbour
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Cockenzie, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£480 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Loch Roag
£650 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Musselburgh, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£400 a year for a 10m yacht
Gairloch, Highland · Loch Gairloch
£403 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth
£3,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway · River Dee
£1,871 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Largs, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£6,030 a year for a 10m yacht
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,918 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
South Queensferry, City of Edinburgh · Firth of Forth
£3,156 a year for a 10m yacht
Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway · Irish Sea, Portpatrick
£880 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Rothesay, Argyll and Bute · Rothesay Harbour
£3,420 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,598 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort William, Highland · Loch Linnhe
£4,050 a year for a 10m yacht
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Aith, Shetland Islands · Aith Voe
Prices not published
Brae, Shetland Islands · Busta Voe
Prices not published
Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour
Prices not published
Crinan, Argyll and Bute · Loch Crinan
Prices not published
Cullen, Moray · Cullen Harbour
Prices not published
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Dunstaffnage Bay, Firth of Lorn
Prices on request
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Granton Harbour
Prices not published
Fairlie, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
Prices not published
Findhorn, Moray · Findhorn Bay
Prices not published
Findochty, Moray · Moray Firth
Prices not published
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Helmsdale, Highland · Moray Firth
Prices on request
Johnshaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Johnshaven
Prices not published
Virkie, Shetland Islands · Pool of Virkie
Prices not published
Port Ellen, Argyll and Bute · Port Ellen Harbour
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
Skeld, Shetland Islands · Skeld Voe
Prices not published
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway · Urr Water
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 10m boat | Berths | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dysart Harbour | Dysart, Firth of Forth | – | swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | A few berths left |
| Kilmelford Yacht Haven | Kilmelford, Loch Melfort | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Berths available |
| Nairn Harbour | Nairn, Moray Firth | £1,545 | pontoon berths | Berths available |
| Port Bannatyne Marina | Port Bannatyne, Kyles of Bute | £3,997 | pontoon berths | Berths available |
| Sandhaven Harbour | Sandhaven, Moray Firth | – | quay and harbour wall berths | Berths available |
| Whitehills Marina | Whitehills, Moray Firth | £1,800 | pontoon berths | Berths available |
| Wick Marina | Wick, North Sea | – | pontoon berths | Berths available |
| Burghead Harbour | Burghead, Moray Firth | £893 | quay and harbour wall berths | Waiting list |
| Stonehaven Harbour | Stonehaven, North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour | – | swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | Waiting list |
| Tayport Harbour | Tayport, River Tay estuary | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Waiting list |
| Tobermory Harbour | Tobermory, Tobermory Bay | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Waiting list |
| Arbroath Harbour | Arbroath, North Sea coast, Angus | £1,810 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Ardfern Yacht Centre | Ardfern, Loch Craignish | £3,020 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Berneray Harbour | Berneray, Sound of Harris | £413 | quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Broad Haven (Dunbar Harbour) | Dunbar, North Sea, Dunbar Harbour | £580 | quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Buckie Harbour | Buckie, Moray Firth | £893 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £5,520 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | Not reported |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £4,530 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Cockenzie Harbour | Cockenzie, Firth of Forth | £480 | pontoon berths, hard standing | Not reported |
| Craobh Marina | Lochgilphead, Craobh Haven | £4,440 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Dubh Thòb Pontoons | Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Loch Roag | £650 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £103 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Fisherrow Harbour | Musselburgh, Firth of Forth | £400 | drying berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Gairloch Harbour | Gairloch, Loch Gairloch | £403 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £807 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £4,440 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Hopeman Harbour | Hopeman, Moray Firth | £717 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | Not reported |
| Inverness Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth | £3,100 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £3,180 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £413 | quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £3,740 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £4,620 | pontoon berths, hard standing | Not reported |
| Kirkcudbright Marina | Kirkcudbright, River Dee | £1,871 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £6,204 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Largs Yacht Haven | Largs, Firth of Clyde | £6,030 | pontoon berths, hard standing | Not reported |
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Mallaig Yachting Marina | Mallaig, Mallaig Harbour | £1,285 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 45 coastal moorings with walk-ashore berths here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £6,204 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £1,800 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
7 of the 71 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Dysart Harbour, Kilmelford Yacht Haven, Nairn Harbour, Port Bannatyne Marina, Sandhaven Harbour, Whitehills Marina and Wick Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
1 of the 71 say you can: Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Scottish Canals licence and 10 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability