Cruiser moorings on the Forth and Clyde Canal

Places that take cruisers. River and estuary motor cruisers.

9 sites · typical £1,755 a year for a 10m cruiser (£273–£3,108 across 8 published tariffs)

Licence: Scottish Canals. About licences

At a glance

Canals

Auchinstarry Marina

Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal

£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Cadder Wharf

Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal

£2,389 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Canals

Kelpies Marina

Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal

£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Kirkintilloch Linear

Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal

£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Canals

Lock 16 Moorings

Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal

£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Canals

Southbank Marina

Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal

£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Speirs Wharf

Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal

£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Liveaboard

Canals

Bowling Lower Basin

Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal

Prices not published

Course, length and connections from OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

Compared: prices for a 10m cruiser

SiteWhereA year, 10m cruiserSpace
Auchinstarry MarinaKilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal£1,758Not reported
Cadder WharfBishopbriggs, Forth & Clyde Canal–Not reported
Kelpies MarinaFalkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal£273Not reported
Kirkintilloch LinearKirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal£1,751Not reported
Lock 16 MooringsFalkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal£1,115Not reported
Southbank MarinaKirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal£2,070Not reported
Speirs WharfGlasgow, Forth & Clyde Canal£3,104Not reported
The Falkirk Wheel LinearFalkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal£1,035Not reported
Bowling Lower BasinBowling, Forth & Clyde Canal£3,108Not reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

How much does a mooring for a 10m cruiser cost on the Forth and Clyde Canal?

Across the 8 cruiser moorings here that publish a price, a 10m cruiser costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £3,108 a year at Bowling Lower Basin. The middle figure is £1,755 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.

What are the cheapest cruiser moorings on the Forth and Clyde Canal?

For a 10m cruiser, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.

Which cruiser moorings on the Forth and Clyde Canal have space now?

None of the 9 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.

Can you live aboard at cruiser moorings on the Forth and Clyde Canal?

4 of the 9 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 9 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Cruiser moorings on other waterways

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability