Shire Cruisers, Sowerby Bridge
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire · Calder & Hebble Navigation
£1,640 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Places that take widebeams. Canal boats over 7ft beam. Sites with a pub, restaurant or café on site or at the gate.
16 sites · 1 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £5,789 a year for a 60ft widebeam (£1,727–£8,926 across 10 published tariffs)
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire · Calder & Hebble Navigation
£1,640 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Surbiton, Surrey · River Thames
£4,880 a year for a 10m cruiser
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Liverpool, Merseyside · River Mersey
£3,661 a year for a 10m yacht
Willington, Derbyshire · Trent & Mersey Canal
£3,803 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Stourport-on-Severn, Worcestershire · River Severn
£2,635 a year for a 10m cruiser
Teynham, Kent · Conyer Creek and the Swale
£2,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Reading, Oxfordshire · River Thames
£4,501 a year for a 10m cruiser
Upton-upon-Severn, Worcestershire · River Severn
£4,043 a year for a 10m cruiser
York, North Yorkshire · River Ouse
£4,010 a year for a 10m cruiser
Ormskirk, Lancashire · Leeds & Liverpool Canal (Rufford Branch)
Prices on request
Roydon, Essex · Roydon Marina lake
Prices not published
Long Eaton, Leicestershire · River Trent
Prices on request
Ormskirk, Lancashire · Leeds & Liverpool Canal
Prices on request
Tattenhall, Cheshire · Shropshire Union Canal
Prices on request
Earls Barton, Northamptonshire · River Nene
Prices on request
| Site | Where | A year, 60ft widebeam | Pub or restaurant / Café | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shire Cruisers, Sowerby Bridge | Sowerby Bridge, Calder & Hebble Navigation | £1,727 | Yes | Berths available |
| Thames Ditton Marina | Surbiton, River Thames | £8,926 | Yes | Waiting list |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,215 | Yes | Not reported |
| Liverpool Marina | Liverpool, River Mersey | £6,696 | Yes | Not reported |
| Mercia Marina | Willington, Trent & Mersey Canal | £4,004 | Yes | Not reported |
| Stourport Marina | Stourport-on-Severn, River Severn | £4,016 | Yes | Not reported |
| Swale Marina | Teynham, Conyer Creek and the Swale | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Thames and Kennet Marina | Reading, River Thames | £8,233 | Yes | Not reported |
| Upton Marina | Upton-upon-Severn, River Severn | £7,395 | Yes | Not reported |
| York Marina | York, River Ouse | £7,334 | Yes | Not reported |
| Fettlers Wharf Marina | Ormskirk, Leeds & Liverpool Canal (Rufford Branch) | On request | Yes | Not reported |
| Roydon Marina Village | Roydon, Roydon Marina lake | £4,882 | Yes | Not reported |
| Sawley Waterside & Marina | Long Eaton, River Trent | On request | Yes | Not reported |
| Scarisbrick Marina | Ormskirk, Leeds & Liverpool Canal | On request | Yes | Not reported |
| Tattenhall Marina | Tattenhall, Shropshire Union Canal | On request | Yes | Not reported |
| White Mills Marina | Earls Barton, River Nene | On request | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 10 widebeam moorings with a pub or café here that publish a price, a 60ft widebeam costs from £1,727 a year at Shire Cruisers, Sowerby Bridge to £8,926 a year at Thames Ditton Marina. The middle figure is £5,789 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 60ft widebeam, Shire Cruisers, Sowerby Bridge is cheapest at £1,727 a year.
1 of the 16 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Shire Cruisers, Sowerby Bridge. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
6 of the 16 say you can: Shire Cruisers, Sowerby Bridge (liveaboards allowed), Thames Ditton Marina (liveaboard by arrangement), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Mercia Marina (liveaboards allowed), Swale Marina (liveaboards allowed) and Sawley Waterside & Marina (liveaboards allowed). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 6 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 4 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways), 1 need a Scottish Canals licence, 1 need lake registration where the lake authority requires it and 1 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability