Dover Marina
Dover, Kent · English Channel
£3,450 a year for a 10m yacht
Berths you step off onto a pontoon, quay or bank: no tender, no rowing out to a buoy. Easier for loading, for a dog, and for getting aboard after dark. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 30m (100ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Superyacht berths are few and often booked well ahead, so ask early.
29 sites · 3 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £9,570 a year for a 30m boat (£527–£54,252 across 17 published tariffs)
Dover, Kent · English Channel
£3,450 a year for a 10m yacht
Atherstone, Warwickshire · Coventry Canal
Prices on request
London, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
Cowes, Isle of Wight · River Medina
£6,428 a year for a 10m yacht
London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin
Prices on request
Newry, Down · Newry Ship Canal
£527 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lymington, Hampshire · Lymington River
£10,193 a year for a 10m yacht
Bideford, Devon · River Torridge
£500 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Portsmouth, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Hartlepool, County Durham · Tees Bay (North Sea)
£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Laggan, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£1,705 a year for a 10m cruiser
Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen
£4,770 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · Southampton Water
£11,526 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Gosport, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£6,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen
£9,042 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen
£10,770 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Torquay, Devon · Tor Bay
£11,232 a year for a 10m yacht
Whitehaven, Cumbria · Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour
£3,010 a year for a 10m yacht
Chiswick, London, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
Hamble, Southampton, Hampshire · River Hamble
Prices not published
Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire · Humber Estuary
Prices on request
Rochester, Kent · River Medway
Prices not published
Rochford, Essex · River Roach
Prices on request
| Site | Where | A year, 30m boat | Berths | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dover Marina | Dover, English Channel | £10,350 | pontoon berths | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Mancetter Marina | Atherstone, Coventry Canal | On request | pontoon berths, linear moorings | 33.5m (110ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| St Katharine Docks Marina | London, River Thames | – | pontoon berths | 40m (131ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Shepards Marina | Cowes, River Medina | £19,283 | pontoon berths | 40m (131ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Blackwall Basin Moorings | London, Blackwall Basin | On request | pontoon berths, pile moorings | 38m (125ft) | – | – | Full |
| Albert Basin | Newry, Newry Ship Canal | £527 | quay and harbour wall berths | 60m (197ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Berthon Lymington Marina | Lymington, Lymington River | £33,977 | pontoon berths | 30.5m (100ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bideford Harbour | Bideford, River Torridge | £1,500 | linear moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 50m (164ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £16,560 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | 33m (108ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £8,125 | pontoon berths | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £6,620 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gunwharf Quays Marina | Portsmouth, Portsmouth Harbour | – | pontoon berths | 80m (262ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hartlepool Marina | Hartlepool, Tees Bay (North Sea) | £8,550 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 50m (164ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £9,540 | pontoon berths | 100m (328ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Laggan Avenue | Laggan, Caledonian Canal | £5,116 | linear moorings | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ocean Quay Marina | Southampton, River Itchen | – | pontoon berths | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ocean Village Marina | Southampton, Southampton Water | £54,252 | pontoon berths | 80m (262ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | Rhu, Firth of Clyde | £15,330 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 36m (118ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Royal Clarence Waterside & Marina | Gosport, Portsmouth Harbour | – | pontoon berths | 30.5m (100ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Saxon Wharf | Southampton, River Itchen | – | pontoon berths, dry stack | 40m (131ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Shamrock Quay | Southampton, River Itchen | £47,070 | pontoon berths | 70m (230ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £9,570 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Torquay Marina | Torquay, Tor Bay | £41,814 | pontoon berths | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Whitehaven Marina | Whitehaven, Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour | £9,216 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 65m (213ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| Chiswick Pier | Chiswick, London, River Thames | – | pontoon berths | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hamble Point Marina | Hamble, Southampton, River Hamble | – | pontoon berths, dry stack | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hull Waterside & Marina | Hull, Humber Estuary | On request | pontoon berths | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Port Medway Marina | Rochester, River Medway | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sutton Wharf Boatyard | Rochford, River Roach | On request | pontoon berths, linear moorings, swinging moorings, hard standing | 45.7m (150ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 17 walk-ashore berths for boats over 30m here that publish a price, a 30m boat costs from £527 a year at Albert Basin to £54,252 a year at Ocean Village Marina. The middle figure is £9,570 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 30m boat, Albert Basin is cheapest at £527 a year in Newry.
3 of the 29 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Dover Marina, Mancetter Marina and St Katharine Docks Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 29 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Dover Marina (30m (98ft)), Mancetter Marina (33.5m (110ft)), St Katharine Docks Marina (40m (131ft)), Shepards Marina (40m (131ft)), Blackwall Basin Moorings (38m (125ft)), Albert Basin (60m (197ft)), Berthon Lymington Marina (30.5m (100ft)), Bideford Harbour (50m (164ft)) and 21 more. Check beam and draught too.
4 of the 29 say you can: Blackwall Basin Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent), Hartlepool Marina (liveaboard by arrangement), Ocean Quay Marina (liveaboard by arrangement) and Hull Waterside & Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 2 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 3 need a Scottish Canals licence and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability