Bishop Meadow L1
Loughborough, Leicestershire · River Soar
£3,272 a year for a 10m cruiser
Places that take small boats. Dinghies, day boats and RIBs. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 20m (65ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
29 sites · 3 with space now · 2 with a waiting list · typical £6,144 a year for a 20m boat (£302–£27,876 across 15 published tariffs)
Loughborough, Leicestershire · River Soar
£3,272 a year for a 10m cruiser
Lydney, Gloucestershire · River Severn
£849 a year for a 10m yacht
Shalford, Surrey · River Wey Navigation
Prices not published
Truro, Cornwall · River Fal and Truro River
£509 a year for a 10m yacht
Portaferry, Down · Strangford Lough
Prices not published
London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin
Prices on request
Brighton, East Sussex · English Channel (Sussex coast)
£5,480 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Hartlepool, County Durham · Tees Bay (North Sea)
£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht
Heybridge Basin, Essex · Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation / Blackwater Estuary
£1,796 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Gosport, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£6,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Hugh Town, Isles of Scilly · St Mary's Harbour
£302 a year for a 10m yacht
Southampton, Hampshire · River Hamble
£3,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Torquay, Devon · Tor Bay
£11,232 a year for a 10m yacht
Whitehaven, Cumbria · Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour
£3,010 a year for a 10m yacht
Fareham, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£3,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Portchester, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£3,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Johnshaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Johnshaven
Prices not published
King's Lynn, Norfolk · River Great Ouse
Prices not published
Milford Haven, Dyfed · Milford Haven Waterway
Prices on request
Godalming, Surrey · Godalming Navigation
Prices not published
Ripley, Surrey · River Wey Navigation
Prices not published
Poole, Dorset · Poole Harbour
Prices not published
Portrush, Antrim · North Atlantic Ocean
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
Pershore, Worcestershire · River Avon
Prices on request
| Site | Where | A year, 20m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bishop Meadow L1 | Loughborough, River Soar | £3,272 | 21.4m (70ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Lydney Harbour | Lydney, River Severn | £1,698 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| National Trust Stonebridge Wharf Moorings | Shalford, River Wey Navigation | – | 21.9m (72ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Port of Truro | Truro, River Fal and Truro River | £1,018 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Portaferry Marina | Portaferry, Strangford Lough | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Blackwall Basin Moorings | London, Blackwall Basin | On request | 38m (125ft) | – | – | Full |
| Brighton Marina | Brighton, English Channel (Sussex coast) | £14,300 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £5,416 | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hartlepool Marina | Hartlepool, Tees Bay (North Sea) | £5,700 | 50m (164ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| Heybridge Basin Moorings | Heybridge Basin, Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation / Blackwater Estuary | £3,593 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £9,240 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Royal Clarence Waterside & Marina | Gosport, Portsmouth Harbour | – | 30.5m (100ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| St Mary's Harbour | Hugh Town, St Mary's Harbour | £302 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Swanwick Marina | Southampton, River Hamble | £17,000 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £6,380 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Torquay Marina | Torquay, Tor Bay | £27,876 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Whitehaven Marina | Whitehaven, Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour | £6,144 | 65m (213ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| WicorMarine Yacht Haven | Fareham, Portsmouth Harbour | £7,040 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| WicorMarine Yacht Haven | Portchester, Portsmouth Harbour | £7,040 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gourdon Harbour | Gourdon, North Sea, Gourdon Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Johnshaven Harbour | Johnshaven, North Sea, Johnshaven | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| King's Lynn Visitor Pontoons | King's Lynn, River Great Ouse | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Milford Marina | Milford Haven, Milford Haven Waterway | On request | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| National Trust Godalming Wharf Moorings | Godalming, Godalming Navigation | – | 21.9m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| National Trust Papercourt Lock Moorings | Ripley, River Wey Navigation | – | 21.9m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Poole Quay Boat Haven | Poole, Poole Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portrush Harbour | Portrush, North Atlantic Ocean | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rosehearty Harbour | Rosehearty, North Sea | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Wyre Marina Boatyard | Pershore, River Avon | On request | 21m (69ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 15 small boat moorings for boats over 20m here that publish a price, a 20m boat costs from £302 a year at St Mary's Harbour to £27,876 a year at Torquay Marina. The middle figure is £6,144 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 20m boat, St Mary's Harbour is cheapest at £302 a year in Hugh Town.
3 of the 29 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Bishop Meadow L1, Lydney Harbour and National Trust Stonebridge Wharf Moorings. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 29 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Bishop Meadow L1 (21.4m (70ft)), Lydney Harbour (25m (82ft)), National Trust Stonebridge Wharf Moorings (21.9m (72ft)), Port of Truro (20m (66ft)), Portaferry Marina (20m (66ft)), Blackwall Basin Moorings (38m (125ft)), Brighton Marina (20m (66ft)), Fort Augustus (45m (148ft)) and 21 more. Check beam and draught too.
5 of the 29 say you can: Bishop Meadow L1 (residential moorings with planning consent), Blackwall Basin Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent), Hartlepool Marina (liveaboard by arrangement), Milford Marina (liveaboards allowed) and Wyre Marina Boatyard (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 2 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 1 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways), 1 need a Scottish Canals licence, 1 need an Avon Navigation Trust licence and 4 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability