Walk-ashore berths near Orpington

Berths you step off onto a pontoon, quay or bank: no tender, no rowing out to a buoy. Easier for loading, for a dog, and for getting aboard after dark.

14 sites · 2 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £1,248 a year for a 10m boat (£450–£5,609 across 4 published tariffs)

At a glance

Estuaries & tidal rivers Berths available

St Katharine Docks Marina

London, Greater London · River Thames

Prices not published

Seen on their website 8 days ago

Estuaries & tidal rivers Berths available

The Embankment Marina

Gravesend, Kent · River Thames

£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Estuaries & tidal rivers Waiting list

South Dock Marina

London, Greater London · River Thames

£5,609 a year for a 10m yacht

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Estuaries & tidal rivers Full

Millwall Inner Dock

Canary Wharf, Greater London · Millwall Inner Dock

Prices not published

Seen on their website 8 days ago

Estuaries & tidal rivers Full

Blackwall Basin Moorings

London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin

Prices on request

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Canals Full

Abbot's Wharf L1

London, Greater London · Limehouse Cut

Prices not published

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Canals Full

Anderson's Wharf

London, Greater London · Limehouse Cut

Prices not published

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Canals Full

Burdett Road L1 Leisure

Limehouse, Greater London · Limehouse Cut

Prices on request

Seen on their website 8 days ago

Canals Full

Bow Wharf L1 Leisure

South Hackney, Greater London · Hertford Union Canal

Prices not published

Seen on their website 8 days ago

Estuaries & tidal rivers

Erith Yacht Club

Erith, Greater London · River Thames

£816 a year for a 10m yacht

Estuaries & tidal rivers

Greenwich Yacht Club

London, Greater London · River Thames

£450 a year for a 10m yacht

Compared: prices for a 10m boat

SiteDistanceA year, 10m boatBerthsSpace
St Katharine Docks Marina18.7km north-west–pontoon berthsBerths available
The Embankment Marina20.6km east£1,680pontoon berthsBerths available
South Dock Marina16km north-west£5,609pontoon berthsWaiting list
Millwall Inner Dock15.4km north-west–quay and harbour wall berthsFull
Blackwall Basin Moorings16.3km north-westOn requestpontoon berths, pile mooringsFull
Abbot's Wharf L117.6km north-west–pontoon berthsFull
Anderson's Wharf17.6km north-west–pontoon berthsFull
Burdett Road L1 Leisure17.6km north-westOn requestlinear mooringsFull
Bow Wharf L1 Leisure19.8km north-west–linear mooringsFull
Erith Yacht Club12.3km north-east£816pontoon berths, swinging mooringsNot reported
Greenwich Yacht Club14.2km north-west£450pontoon berths, swinging moorings, drying berthsNot reported
Poplar Waterside & Marina16.2km north-westOn requestpontoon berthsNot reported
Limehouse Waterside & Marina17.6km north-west–pontoon berthsNot reported
Limehouse Residential Moorings17.6km north-westOn requestpontoon berthsNot reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

How much does a mooring for a 10m boat cost near Orpington?

Across the 4 walk-ashore berths here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £450 a year at Greenwich Yacht Club to £5,609 a year at South Dock Marina. The middle figure is £1,248 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.

What are the cheapest walk-ashore berths near Orpington?

For a 10m boat, Greenwich Yacht Club is cheapest at £450 a year in London.

Which walk-ashore berths near Orpington have space now?

2 of the 14 told us in the last six weeks they have space: St Katharine Docks Marina and The Embankment Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.

What is the nearest walk-ashore berth to Orpington?

Erith Yacht Club, 12.3km north-east of the centre of Orpington, on the River Thames.

Can you live aboard at walk-ashore berths near Orpington?

8 of the 14 say you can: The Embankment Marina (liveaboards allowed), South Dock Marina (liveaboards allowed), Blackwall Basin Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent), Abbot's Wharf L1 (residential moorings with planning consent), Anderson's Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent), Poplar Waterside & Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Limehouse Waterside & Marina (liveaboards allowed) and Limehouse Residential Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 7 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence and 1 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Walk-ashore berths near other towns

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability