Leamington Wharf East
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£5,898 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Canals, rivers, the Broads and lakes: fresh water, no tides, and a navigation licence from the authority that runs the water.
7 sites · typical £5,402 a year for a 57ft narrowboat (£3,352–£8,633 across 6 published tariffs)
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£5,898 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£7,450 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Winchburgh, West Lothian · Union Canal
£4,895 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Broxburn, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Distance | A year, 57ft narrowboat | Space |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leamington Wharf East | 8.5km west | £5,898 | Not reported |
| Viewforth Quay | 9.3km west | £7,450 | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | 9.5km west | £8,633 | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | 20.3km west | £4,905 | Not reported |
| Winchburgh Marina | 25.1km west | £4,895 | Not reported |
| Causewayend | 29.2km west | £3,352 | Not reported |
| Harrison Park | 10.7km west | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 6 inland moorings here that publish a price, a 57ft narrowboat costs from £3,352 a year at Causewayend to £8,633 a year at Lochrin Basin. The middle figure is £5,402 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 57ft narrowboat, Causewayend is cheapest at £3,352 a year in Broxburn.
None of the 7 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
Leamington Wharf East, 8.5km west of the centre of Musselburgh, on the Union Canal.
4 of the 7 say you can: Leamington Wharf East (liveaboards allowed), Viewforth Quay (liveaboards allowed), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent) and Causewayend (liveaboards allowed). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 7 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability