Lock 16 Moorings
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Canals, rivers, the Broads and lakes: fresh water, no tides, and a navigation licence from the authority that runs the water.
13 sites · typical £3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat (£273–£4,905 across 13 published tariffs)
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Reddingmuirhead, Falkirk · Union Canal
£1,565 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Linlithgow, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Linlithgow, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,725 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Broxburn, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Winchburgh, West Lothian · Union Canal
£4,895 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
| Site | Distance | A year, 57ft narrowboat | Space |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lock 16 Moorings | 1.9km west | £1,936 | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | 2.9km north-east | £273 | Not reported |
| Reddingmuirhead | 3.4km south-east | £1,565 | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | 3.4km west | £1,798 | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Basin | 3.6km west | £3,054 | Not reported |
| Braehead, Linlithgow | 11.1km east | £3,352 | Not reported |
| Linlithgow East | 12.3km east | £3,725 | Not reported |
| Causewayend | 16.7km east | £3,352 | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | 16.9km west | £3,054 | Not reported |
| Winchburgh Marina | 20.9km east | £4,895 | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | 24.1km west | £3,042 | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | 24.1km west | £3,595 | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | 26.6km east | £4,905 | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 13 inland moorings here that publish a price, a 57ft narrowboat costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £4,905 a year at Ratho Marina. The middle figure is £3,054 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 57ft narrowboat, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.
None of the 13 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
Lock 16 Moorings, 1.9km west of the centre of Falkirk, on the Forth & Clyde Canal.
6 of the 13 say you can: Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Braehead, Linlithgow (liveaboards allowed), Linlithgow East (residential moorings with planning consent), Causewayend (liveaboards allowed), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 13 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability