James Watt Marina
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 15m (50ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
7 sites · typical £4,093 a year for a 15m boat (£2,063–£7,665 across 6 published tariffs)
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£2,389 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Distance | A year, 15m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| James Watt Marina | 9.7km west | £4,770 | 100m (328ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | 14.9km north-west | £7,665 | 36m (118ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | 19.3km west | £6,930 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | 21km east | £3,104 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Cadder Wharf | 22.4km east | £2,063 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sandpoint Marina | 0.4km south-east | – | 24.3m (80ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | 5.8km east | £3,415 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 6 marinas for boats over 15m here that publish a price, a 15m boat costs from £2,063 a year at Cadder Wharf to £7,665 a year at Rhu Marina. The middle figure is £4,093 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 15m boat, Cadder Wharf is cheapest at £2,063 a year in Bishopbriggs.
None of the 7 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 7 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: James Watt Marina (100m (328ft)), Rhu Marina (36m (118ft)), Kip Marina (24m (79ft)), Speirs Wharf (19m (62ft)), Cadder Wharf (19m (62ft)), Sandpoint Marina (24.3m (80ft)) and Bowling Lower Basin (17m (56ft)). Check beam and draught too.
Sandpoint Marina, 0.4km south-east of the centre of Dumbarton, on the River Leven.
1 of the 7 say you can: Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 3 need a Scottish Canals licence and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability