Brentford Island
Brentford, Greater London · Grand Union Canal
£8,183 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Berths you step off onto a pontoon, quay or bank: no tender, no rowing out to a buoy. Easier for loading, for a dog, and for getting aboard after dark.
13 sites · 2 with space now · 3 with a waiting list · typical £3,680 a year for a 10m boat (£660–£8,183 across 3 published tariffs)
Brentford, Greater London · Grand Union Canal
£8,183 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
London, Greater London · River Thames
Prices on request
Brentford, Greater London · Grand Union Canal (River Brent)
Prices not published
London, Greater London · River Thames
£660 a year for a 10m yacht
Twickenham, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
London, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
Kensal Green, Greater London · Grand Union Canal (Paddington Branch)
Prices on request
Paddington / Kensal Green, Greater London · Grand Union Canal (Paddington Branch)
Prices on request
Alperton, Greater London · Grand Union Canal
Prices not published
Brentford, Greater London · River Thames
£3,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Chiswick, London, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
Kew, Greater London · River Thames
Prices not published
London, Greater London · River Thames
Prices on request
| Site | Distance | A year, 10m boat | Berths | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brentford Island | 3.4km west | £8,183 | pontoon berths | Berths available |
| Imperial Wharf Marina | 6.1km east | On request | pontoon berths, linear moorings | Berths available |
| Brentford Semi Tidal L1 Leisure | 3.6km west | – | linear moorings | Waiting list |
| Hurlingham Yacht Club | 4.8km south-east | £660 | pontoon berths, drying berths | Waiting list |
| Hammertons Ferry Moorings | 6km south-west | – | linear moorings | Waiting list |
| Chiswick Quay Marina | 1.9km south | – | pontoon berths | Full |
| Kensal Green L1 | 5km north-east | On request | linear moorings | Full |
| Hormead Wharf (East) | 5.4km north-east | On request | pontoon berths | Full |
| Atlip Road L1 | 5.6km north-west | – | linear moorings | Full |
| Brentford Dock Marina | 3.1km south-west | £3,680 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Chiswick Pier | 1.4km south-east | – | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Kew Marine | 1.8km south-west | – | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Chelsea Harbour Marina | 6km east | On request | pontoon berths | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 3 walk-ashore berths here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £660 a year at Hurlingham Yacht Club to £8,183 a year at Brentford Island. The middle figure is £3,680 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m boat, Hurlingham Yacht Club is cheapest at £660 a year in London.
2 of the 13 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Brentford Island and Imperial Wharf Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
Chiswick Pier, 1.4km south-east of the centre of Chiswick, on the River Thames.
4 of the 13 say you can: Brentford Island (liveaboard by arrangement), Chiswick Quay Marina (liveaboards allowed), Kensal Green L1 (liveaboards allowed) and Atlip Road L1 (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 5 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence and 3 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability