Liveaboard moorings for boats over 24m

Moorings where the site says you can live on board, outright or by arrangement. Residential moorings often need planning consent and pay council tax; we show the terms as each site states them. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 24m (80ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Large yacht berths are few and often booked well ahead, so ask early.

4 sites · typical £6,840 a year for a 24m boat (£6,840–£6,840 across 1 published tariffs)

At a glance

Estuaries & tidal rivers Full

Blackwall Basin Moorings

London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin

Prices on request

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Coast & harbours

Hartlepool Marina

Hartlepool, County Durham · Tees Bay (North Sea)

£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht

Liveaboard

Estuaries & tidal rivers

Ocean Quay Marina

Southampton, Hampshire · River Itchen

£4,770 a year for a 10m yacht

Liveaboard

Estuaries & tidal rivers

Hull Waterside & Marina

Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire · Humber Estuary

Prices on request

Liveaboard

Compared: prices for a 24m boat

SiteWhereA year, 24m boatLiveaboardLongest boatWidest beamDeepest draughtSpace
Blackwall Basin MooringsLondon, Blackwall BasinOn requestResidential moorings with planning consent38m (125ft)––Full
Hartlepool MarinaHartlepool, Tees Bay (North Sea)£6,840Liveaboard by arrangement50m (164ft)–5mNot reported
Ocean Quay MarinaSouthampton, River Itchen–Liveaboard by arrangement30m (98ft)––Not reported
Hull Waterside & MarinaHull, Humber EstuaryOn requestResidential moorings with planning consent30m (98ft)––Not reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

Which liveaboard moorings for boats over 24m in the UK have space now?

None of the 4 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.

Where can I keep a boat over 24m (79ft) in the UK?

All 4 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Blackwall Basin Moorings (38m (125ft)), Hartlepool Marina (50m (164ft)), Ocean Quay Marina (30m (98ft)) and Hull Waterside & Marina (30m (98ft)). Check beam and draught too.

Can you live aboard at liveaboard moorings for boats over 24m in the UK?

All 4 say you can: Blackwall Basin Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent), Hartlepool Marina (liveaboard by arrangement), Ocean Quay Marina (liveaboard by arrangement) and Hull Waterside & Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence and 1 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability