Ardoran Marine
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Places that take small boats. Dinghies, day boats and RIBs. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
11 sites · 1 with a waiting list · typical £2,523 a year for a 12m boat (£352–£7,236 across 11 published tariffs)
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Loch Feochan
£2,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Largs, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£6,030 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ardoran Marine | Oban, Loch Feochan | £2,820 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £968 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | Dunoon, Firth of Clyde | £5,328 | 13m (43ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £652 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £5,544 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Largs Yacht Haven | Largs, Firth of Clyde | £7,236 | 12.1m (40ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,523 | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Troon Yacht Haven | Troon, Firth of Clyde | £5,676 | 13.5m (44ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 11 small boat moorings for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £352 a year at Ulva Ferry Pontoon to £7,236 a year at Largs Yacht Haven. The middle figure is £2,523 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Ulva Ferry Pontoon is cheapest at £352 a year.
None of the 11 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 11 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Ardoran Marine (14m (46ft)), Girvan Harbour (17m (56ft)), Holy Loch Marina (13m (43ft)), Kallin Harbour (14m (46ft)), Kip Marina (24m (79ft)), Largs Yacht Haven (12.1m (40ft)), Lochaline Harbour (15m (49ft)), Lochboisdale Harbour (18m (59ft)) and 3 more. Check beam and draught too.
1 of the 11 say you can: Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability