Kilmelford Yacht Haven
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Walk-ashore berth alongside a floating pontoon, usually in a marina. Sites that sell diesel on site, at a fuel berth or from the boatyard.
29 sites · 1 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £3,100 a year for a 10m boat (£352–£6,204 across 19 published tariffs)
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Tobermory, Argyll and Bute · Tobermory Bay
Prices not published
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£5,003 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth
£3,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Winchburgh, West Lothian · Union Canal
£4,895 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Brae, Shetland Islands · Busta Voe
Prices not published
Crinan, Argyll and Bute · Loch Crinan
Prices not published
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Dunstaffnage Bay, Firth of Lorn
Prices on request
Fairlie, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
Prices not published
Appin, Argyll and Bute · Loch Linnhe
Prices not published
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 10m boat | Berths | Diesel | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kilmelford Yacht Haven | Kilmelford, Loch Melfort | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Yes | Berths available |
| Tobermory Harbour | Tobermory, Tobermory Bay | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Yes | Waiting list |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | Yes | Not reported |
| Caley Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,880 | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £6,000 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | Yes | Not reported |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £4,530 | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Craobh Marina | Lochgilphead, Craobh Haven | £4,440 | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Inverness Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth | £3,100 | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £3,180 | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £4,100 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Yes | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £5,880 | pontoon berths, hard standing | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £6,204 | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Mallaig Yachting Marina | Mallaig, Mallaig Harbour | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Yes | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,500 | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | Rhu, Firth of Clyde | £5,110 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Yes | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,070 | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Basin | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Winchburgh Marina | Winchburgh, Union Canal | – | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,108 | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Brae Marina | Brae, Busta Voe | – | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Crinan Boatyard | Crinan, Loch Crinan | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Yes | Not reported |
| Dunstaffnage Marina | Oban, Dunstaffnage Bay, Firth of Lorn | On request | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Fairlie Quay Marina | Fairlie, Firth of Clyde | – | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Linnhe Marina | Appin, Loch Linnhe | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Yes | Not reported |
| Sandpoint Marina | Dumbarton, River Leven | – | pontoon berths | Yes | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £2,702 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 19 pontoon berths with diesel here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £352 a year at Ulva Ferry Pontoon to £6,204 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £3,100 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m boat, Ulva Ferry Pontoon is cheapest at £352 a year.
1 of the 29 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Kilmelford Yacht Haven. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
3 of the 29 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 8 need a Scottish Canals licence, 1 need lake registration where the lake authority requires it and 7 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability