Kilmelford Yacht Haven
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Walk-ashore berth alongside a floating pontoon, usually in a marina. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 15m (50ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
35 sites · 3 with space now · typical £3,248 a year for a 15m boat (£78–£9,300 across 29 published tariffs)
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Wick, Highland · North Sea
Prices not published
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway · River Dee
£1,871 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Rothesay, Argyll and Bute · Rothesay Harbour
£3,420 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Castlebay, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Castlebay Harbour
Prices not published
Port Ellen, Argyll and Bute · Port Ellen Harbour
Prices not published
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 15m boat | Berths | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kilmelford Yacht Haven | Kilmelford, Loch Melfort | – | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Port Bannatyne Marina | Port Bannatyne, Kyles of Bute | £5,995 | pontoon berths | 16.5m (54ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Wick Marina | Wick, North Sea | – | pontoon berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £3,248 | pontoon berths | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,637 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | 19m (62ft) | 3.5m | 1.6m | Not reported |
| Buckie Harbour | Buckie, Moray Firth | £1,604 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £9,000 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | 33m (108ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £6,795 | pontoon berths | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £155 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Fort Augustus | Fort Augustus, Caledonian Canal | £4,062 | pontoon berths | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £3,310 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | 45m (148ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £1,210 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hopeman Harbour | Hopeman, Moray Firth | £1,604 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £4,770 | pontoon berths | 100m (328ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £6,150 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £8,820 | pontoon berths, hard standing | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkcudbright Marina | Kirkcudbright, River Dee | £2,806 | pontoon berths | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £9,300 | pontoon berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochaline Harbour | Lochaline, Sound of Mull | £2,472 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £3,154 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,672 | pontoon berths | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £2,250 | pontoon berths | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portknockie Harbour | Portknockie, Moray Firth | £1,604 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | – | pontoon berths | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | Rhu, Firth of Clyde | £7,665 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 36m (118ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rothesay Marina | Rothesay, Rothesay Harbour | £5,130 | pontoon berths | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,105 | pontoon berths | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £4,785 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | pontoon berths | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,415 | pontoon berths | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Castlebay Marina | Castlebay, Castlebay Harbour | – | pontoon berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Port Ellen Marina | Port Ellen, Port Ellen Harbour | – | pontoon berths | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sandpoint Marina | Dumbarton, River Leven | – | pontoon berths | 24.3m (80ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £4,054 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 16m (52ft) | 4m | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 29 pontoon berths for boats over 15m here that publish a price, a 15m boat costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £9,300 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £3,248 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 15m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
3 of the 35 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Kilmelford Yacht Haven, Port Bannatyne Marina and Wick Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 35 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Kilmelford Yacht Haven (20m (66ft)), Port Bannatyne Marina (16.5m (54ft)), Wick Marina (20m (66ft)), Ardrishaig Basin (26.8m (88ft)), Auchinstarry Marina (19m (62ft)), Buckie Harbour (20m (66ft)), Campbeltown Marina (33m (108ft)), Clyde Marina (25m (82ft)) and 27 more. Check beam and draught too.
4 of the 35 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 9 need a Scottish Canals licence and 5 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability