Burghead Harbour
Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Alongside a harbour wall or quay. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 15m (50ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
14 sites · 2 with a waiting list · typical £1,340 a year for a 15m boat (£78–£3,897 across 8 published tariffs)
Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour
Prices not published
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Gourdon, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Gourdon Harbour
Prices not published
Johnshaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Johnshaven
Prices not published
Rosehearty, Aberdeenshire · North Sea
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 15m boat | Berths | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Burghead Harbour | Burghead, Moray Firth | £1,340 | quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Stonehaven Harbour | Stonehaven, North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour | – | swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £3,897 | quay and harbour wall berths | 26.8m (88ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Buckie Harbour | Buckie, Moray Firth | £1,340 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £155 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £1,210 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hopeman Harbour | Hopeman, Moray Firth | £1,340 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portknockie Harbour | Portknockie, Moray Firth | £1,340 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Gourdon Harbour | Gourdon, North Sea, Gourdon Harbour | – | drying berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Johnshaven Harbour | Johnshaven, North Sea, Johnshaven | – | quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rosehearty Harbour | Rosehearty, North Sea | – | quay and harbour wall berths | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | – | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | 16m (52ft) | 4m | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 8 quay and harbour wall berths for boats over 15m here that publish a price, a 15m boat costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £3,897 a year at Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock. The middle figure is £1,340 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 15m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
None of the 14 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 14 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Burghead Harbour (20m (66ft)), Stonehaven Harbour (20m (66ft)), Ardrishaig Basin Dummy Lock (26.8m (88ft)), Buckie Harbour (20m (66ft)), Eyemouth Harbour (20m (66ft)), Girvan Harbour (17m (56ft)), Hopeman Harbour (20m (66ft)), Lerwick Port Authority (15m (49ft)) and 6 more. Check beam and draught too.
2 of the 14 say you can: Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 2 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability