Lerwick Port Authority
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Every site here with a published price, cheapest first, worked out for the same boat so the figures compare. Berths you step off onto a pontoon, quay or bank: no tender, no rowing out to a buoy. Easier for loading, for a dog, and for getting aboard after dark.
71 sites · 3 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £2,070 a year for a 10m boat (£78–£7,450 across 71 published tariffs)
Lerwick, Shetland Islands · Lerwick Harbour
£78 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Musselburgh, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£400 a year for a 10m yacht
Gairloch, Highland · Loch Gairloch
£403 a year for a 10m yacht
Berneray, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Sound of Harris
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Kallin Harbour
£413 a year for a 10m yacht
Cockenzie, East Lothian · Firth of Forth
£480 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunbar, East Lothian · North Sea, Dunbar Harbour
£580 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Loch Roag
£650 a year for a 10m yacht
Hopeman, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Portknockie, Moray · Moray Firth
£717 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochmaddy, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochmaddy
£750 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Portpatrick, Dumfries and Galloway · Irish Sea, Portpatrick
£880 a year for a 10m yacht
Buckie, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Burghead, Moray · Moray Firth
£893 a year for a 10m yacht
Reddingmuirhead, Falkirk · Union Canal
£1,565 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Mallaig, Highland · Mallaig Harbour
£1,285 a year for a 10m yacht
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Nairn, Highland · Moray Firth
£1,545 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,598 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Laggan, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£1,705 a year for a 10m cruiser
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Whitehills, Aberdeenshire · Moray Firth
£1,800 a year for a 10m yacht
Arbroath, Angus · North Sea coast, Angus
£1,810 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,185 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway · River Dee
£1,871 a year for a 10m yacht
Stornoway, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Stornoway Harbour
£1,918 a year for a 10m yacht
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,518 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£3,761 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bellanoch, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
Prices not published
Gairlochy, Highland · Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy
£2,207 a year for a 10m cruiser
Dochgarroch, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,181 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Lochaline, Highland · Sound of Mull
£2,472 a year for a 10m yacht
Banavie, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,356 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute · Crinan Canal
£4,513 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Portavadie, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£2,772 a year for a 10m cruiser
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
£5,003 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute · Loch Craignish
£3,020 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal / Inverness Firth
£3,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
South Queensferry, City of Edinburgh · Firth of Forth
£3,156 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Broxburn, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Rothesay, Argyll and Bute · Rothesay Harbour
£3,420 a year for a 10m yacht
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Fort William, Highland · Loch Linnhe
£4,050 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute · Craobh Haven
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£5,898 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Largs, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£6,030 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£7,450 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
| Site | Where | A year, 10m boat | Per metre a year | Berths | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lerwick Port Authority | Lerwick, Lerwick Harbour | £78 | £7.77 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £103 | £10.32 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | £35.20 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Fisherrow Harbour | Musselburgh, Firth of Forth | £400 | £40 | drying berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Gairloch Harbour | Gairloch, Loch Gairloch | £403 | £40.30 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Berneray Harbour | Berneray, Sound of Harris | £413 | £41.30 | quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Kallin Harbour | Grimsay, Isle of North Uist, Kallin Harbour | £413 | £41.30 | quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Cockenzie Harbour | Cockenzie, Firth of Forth | £480 | £48 | pontoon berths, hard standing | Not reported |
| Broad Haven (Dunbar Harbour) | Dunbar, North Sea, Dunbar Harbour | £580 | £58 | quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Dubh Thòb Pontoons | Kirkibost, Great Bernera, Loch Roag | £650 | £65 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Hopeman Harbour | Hopeman, Moray Firth | £717 | £71.66 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | Not reported |
| Portknockie Harbour | Portknockie, Moray Firth | £717 | £71.66 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths, hard standing | Not reported |
| Lochmaddy Marina | Lochmaddy, Lochmaddy | £750 | £75 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £807 | £80.65 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Portpatrick Harbour | Portpatrick, Irish Sea, Portpatrick | £880 | £88 | swinging moorings, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Buckie Harbour | Buckie, Moray Firth | £893 | £89.30 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Burghead Harbour | Burghead, Moray Firth | £893 | £89.30 | quay and harbour wall berths | Waiting list |
| Reddingmuirhead | Reddingmuirhead, Union Canal | £901 | £90.12 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,035 | £103.49 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,115 | £111.45 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Mallaig Yachting Marina | Mallaig, Mallaig Harbour | £1,285 | £128.50 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £1,500 | £150 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Nairn Harbour | Nairn, Moray Firth | £1,545 | £154.50 | pontoon berths | Berths available |
| Stornoway Marina | Stornoway, Stornoway Harbour | £1,598 | £159.84 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | £168 | pontoon berths, swinging moorings | Not reported |
| Laggan Avenue | Laggan, Caledonian Canal | £1,705 | £170.52 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,751 | £175.14 | linear moorings | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | £175.80 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Basin | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,758 | £175.80 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Whitehills Marina | Whitehills, Moray Firth | £1,800 | £180 | pontoon berths | Berths available |
| Arbroath Harbour | Arbroath, North Sea coast, Angus | £1,810 | £181 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Oakfield Bridge | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £1,834 | £183.36 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Kirkcudbright Marina | Kirkcudbright, River Dee | £1,871 | £187.05 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Newton Marina | Stornoway, Stornoway Harbour | £1,918 | £191.81 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Cairnbaan Lock 5 | Cairnbaan, Crinan Canal | £2,025 | £202.51 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,070 | £206.97 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,103 | £210.27 | pontoon berths, quay and harbour wall berths | Not reported |
| Ardrishaig Basin | Ardrishaig, Crinan Canal | £2,165 | £216.53 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Bellanoch Marina | Bellanoch, Crinan Canal | £2,201 | £220.08 | pontoon berths | Not reported |
| Gairlochy | Gairlochy, Caledonian Canal and Loch Lochy | £2,207 | £220.67 | pontoon berths, linear moorings | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 71 cheapest walk-ashore berths here that publish a price, a 10m boat costs from £78 a year at Lerwick Port Authority to £7,450 a year at Viewforth Quay. The middle figure is £2,070 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 10m boat, Lerwick Port Authority is cheapest at £78 a year.
3 of the 71 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Nairn Harbour, Whitehills Marina and Port Bannatyne Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
8 of the 71 say you can: Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Applecross Claypits (residential moorings with planning consent), Causewayend (liveaboards allowed), Leamington Wharf East (liveaboards allowed) and Viewforth Quay (liveaboards allowed). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 26 need a Scottish Canals licence and 4 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability