Kilmelford Yacht Haven
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 15m (50ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Sites that sell diesel on site, at a fuel berth or from the boatyard.
21 sites · 1 with space now · typical £4,054 a year for a 15m boat (£273–£9,300 across 19 published tariffs)
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Campbeltown, Argyll and Bute · Campbeltown Loch
£5,520 a year for a 10m yacht
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Oban, Argyll and Bute · Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn
£3,740 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire · Peterhead Bay, North Sea
£1,500 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Stromness, Orkney Islands · Stromness Harbour
£6,012 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ulva Ferry, Argyll and Bute · Sound of Ulva
£352 a year for a 10m yacht
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
Inverness, Highland · Caledonian Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 15m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Diesel | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kilmelford Yacht Haven | Kilmelford, Loch Melfort | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Auchinstarry Marina | Kilsyth, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,637 | 19m (62ft) | 3.5m | 1.6m | Yes | Not reported |
| Campbeltown Marina | Campbeltown, Campbeltown Loch | £8,280 | 33m (108ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £6,795 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £4,770 | 100m (328ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Kerrera Marina | Oban, Ardentrive Bay, Firth of Lorn | £6,150 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £6,930 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkintilloch Linear | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £2,627 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £9,300 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £3,154 | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £7,455 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Peterhead Bay Marina | Peterhead, Peterhead Bay, North Sea | £2,250 | 22m (72ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | Rhu, Firth of Clyde | £7,665 | 36m (118ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | Kirkintilloch, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,105 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Stromness Marina | Stromness, Stromness Harbour | £9,018 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £1,552 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Ulva Ferry Pontoon | Ulva Ferry, Sound of Ulva | £352 | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,415 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Sandpoint Marina | Dumbarton, River Leven | – | 24.3m (80ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Seaport Marina | Inverness, Caledonian Canal | £4,054 | 16m (52ft) | 4m | – | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 19 marinas for boats over 15m with diesel here that publish a price, a 15m boat costs from £273 a year at Kelpies Marina to £9,300 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £4,054 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 15m boat, Kelpies Marina is cheapest at £273 a year in Falkirk.
1 of the 21 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Kilmelford Yacht Haven. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 21 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Kilmelford Yacht Haven (20m (66ft)), Auchinstarry Marina (19m (62ft)), Campbeltown Marina (33m (108ft)), Clyde Marina (25m (82ft)), James Watt Marina (100m (328ft)), Kelpies Marina (19m (62ft)), Kerrera Marina (22m (72ft)), Kip Marina (24m (79ft)) and 13 more. Check beam and draught too.
5 of the 21 say you can: Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed), Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent), Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Seaport Marina (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 8 need a Scottish Canals licence and 5 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability