Dover Marina
Dover, Kent · English Channel
£3,450 a year for a 10m yacht
Marinas and harbours on the open coast, from walk-ashore pontoons with lock gates or sills to harbour walls and fore-and-aft moorings. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 24m (80ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Large yacht berths are few and often booked well ahead, so ask early.
10 sites · 1 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £9,768 a year for a 24m boat (£302–£33,451 across 10 published tariffs)
Dover, Kent · English Channel
£3,450 a year for a 10m yacht
Minehead, Somerset · Bristol Channel, Minehead Harbour
£644 a year for a 10m yacht
Portsmouth, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,100 a year for a 10m yacht
Hartlepool, County Durham · Tees Bay (North Sea)
£2,850 a year for a 10m yacht
Plymouth, Devon · Plymouth Sound, Millbay
£5,590 a year for a 10m yacht
Portsmouth, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour
£7,560 a year for a 10m yacht
Portishead, North Somerset · Bristol Channel
£4,690 a year for a 10m yacht
Hugh Town, Isles of Scilly · St Mary's Harbour
£302 a year for a 10m yacht
Torquay, Devon · Tor Bay
£11,232 a year for a 10m yacht
Whitehaven, Cumbria · Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour
£3,010 a year for a 10m yacht
| Site | Where | A year, 24m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dover Marina | Dover, English Channel | £8,280 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Minehead Harbour | Minehead, Bristol Channel, Minehead Harbour | £1,546 | 75m (246ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Gunwharf Quays Marina | Portsmouth, Portsmouth Harbour | £19,200 | 80m (262ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hartlepool Marina | Hartlepool, Tees Bay (North Sea) | £6,840 | 50m (164ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
| King Point Marina | Plymouth, Plymouth Sound, Millbay | £13,416 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Port Solent Marina | Portsmouth, Portsmouth Harbour | £21,360 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Portishead Marina | Portishead, Bristol Channel | £11,256 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| St Mary's Harbour | Hugh Town, St Mary's Harbour | £302 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Torquay Marina | Torquay, Tor Bay | £33,451 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Whitehaven Marina | Whitehaven, Solway Firth approaches (Irish Sea), Whitehaven Harbour | £7,373 | 65m (213ft) | – | 5m | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 10 coastal marinas and harbour moorings for boats over 24m here that publish a price, a 24m boat costs from £302 a year at St Mary's Harbour to £33,451 a year at Torquay Marina. The middle figure is £9,768 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 24m boat, St Mary's Harbour is cheapest at £302 a year in Hugh Town.
1 of the 10 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Dover Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 10 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Dover Marina (30m (98ft)), Minehead Harbour (75m (246ft)), Gunwharf Quays Marina (80m (262ft)), Hartlepool Marina (50m (164ft)), King Point Marina (25m (82ft)), Port Solent Marina (24m (79ft)), Portishead Marina (24m (79ft)), St Mary's Harbour (24m (79ft)) and 2 more. Check beam and draught too.
1 of the 10 say you can: Hartlepool Marina (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability