Broads Marina (Wayford Bridge)
Wayford Bridge, Norfolk · River Ant
£1,600 a year for a 10m cruiser
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
30 sites · 6 with space now · 2 with a waiting list · typical £3,396 a year for a 12m boat (£435–£6,067 across 20 published tariffs)
Wayford Bridge, Norfolk · River Ant
£1,600 a year for a 10m cruiser
Brundall, Norfolk · River Yare
Prices on request
Ely, Cambridgeshire · River Great Ouse
Prices on request
Waltham Abbey, Essex · Lee Navigation
Prices not published
Hoveton, Norfolk · River Bure
£2,855 a year for a 10m cruiser
Reedham, Norfolk · Norfolk Broads
Prices not published
March, Cambridgeshire · Middle Level Navigations
£1,079 a year for a 10m cruiser
Loddon, Norfolk · River Chet
Prices on request
Bradwell-on-Sea, Essex · Blackwater Estuary
£3,128 a year for a 10m yacht
Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex · River Crouch
£4,250 a year for a 10m yacht
Chelmsford, Essex · Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation
£3,120 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Wallasea Island, Essex · River Crouch
£2,160 a year for a 10m yacht
North Fambridge, Essex · River Crouch
£1,970 a year for a 10m yacht
Ipswich, Suffolk · River Orwell
£3,673 a year for a 10m yacht
Heybridge Basin, Essex · Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation / Blackwater Estuary
£1,796 a year for a 10m yacht
Beccles, Suffolk · River Waveney
£2,475 a year for a 10m cruiser
Ipswich, Suffolk · River Orwell
£5,056 a year for a 10m yacht
March, Cambridgeshire · River Nene Old Course
£1,520 a year for a 10m cruiser
Lowestoft, Suffolk · Lake Lothing
£3,492 a year for a 10m yacht
Maldon, Essex · River Blackwater
£435 a year for a 10m yacht
Shotley Gate, Suffolk · River Orwell and River Stour
£4,630 a year for a 10m yacht
Levington, Suffolk · River Orwell
£4,210 a year for a 10m yacht
Woodbridge, Suffolk · River Deben
£3,900 a year for a 10m yacht
Upware, Cambridgeshire · River Cam
£1,419 a year for a 10m cruiser
Woolverstone, Suffolk · River Orwell
£3,444 a year for a 10m yacht
Acle, Norfolk · River Bure
Prices on request
King's Lynn, Norfolk · River Great Ouse
Prices not published
Ludham, Norfolk · River Thurne
Prices on request
Rochford, Essex · River Roach
Prices on request
Rochford, Essex · River Roach
Prices on request
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Broads Marina (Wayford Bridge) | Wayford Bridge, River Ant | £1,920 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Brundall Gardens Marina | Brundall, River Yare | On request | 19.8m (65ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Cathedral Marina | Ely, River Great Ouse | On request | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Hazlemere Marina | Waltham Abbey, Lee Navigation | – | 18.3m (60ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Norfolk Boat Sales Marina (Wroxham) | Hoveton, River Bure | £3,960 | 13.7m (45ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Reedham Marina | Reedham, Norfolk Broads | – | 18.3m (60ft) | – | – | Berths available |
| Fox Narrowboats Marina | March, Middle Level Navigations | £1,309 | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Greenway Marine | Loddon, River Chet | On request | 12.2m (40ft) | – | – | Waiting list |
| Bradwell Marina | Bradwell-on-Sea, Blackwater Estuary | £3,792 | 15.2m (50ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Burnham Yacht Harbour | Burnham-on-Crouch, River Crouch | £5,868 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation | Chelmsford, Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation | £2,156 | 17.4m (57ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Essex Marina | Wallasea Island, River Crouch | £2,846 | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Fambridge Yacht Haven | North Fambridge, River Crouch | £2,400 | 16m (52ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Fox's Marina & Boatyard | Ipswich, River Orwell | £4,408 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Heybridge Basin Moorings | Heybridge Basin, Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation / Blackwater Estuary | £2,156 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Hippersons Boatyard | Beccles, River Waveney | £3,000 | 12.2m (40ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Ipswich Beacon Marina | Ipswich, River Orwell | £6,067 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Knightsbridge Caravan & Marina Park | March, River Nene Old Course | £1,764 | 19.8m (65ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Lowestoft Beacon Marina | Lowestoft, Lake Lothing | £4,190 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Maldon District Council Blackwater Moorings | Maldon, River Blackwater | £435 | 15m (49ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Shotley Marina | Shotley Gate, River Orwell and River Stour | £5,556 | 14m (46ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Suffolk Yacht Harbour | Levington, River Orwell | £5,052 | 21.3m (70ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Tidemill Yacht Harbour | Woodbridge, River Deben | £4,680 | 12m (39ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Upware Marina | Upware, River Cam | £1,720 | 19.8m (65ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Woolverstone Marina | Woolverstone, River Orwell | £4,133 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Acle Marina | Acle, River Bure | On request | 13.7m (45ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| King's Lynn Visitor Pontoons | King's Lynn, River Great Ouse | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Norfolk Broads Yachting Company Marina | Ludham, River Thurne | On request | 13.7m (45ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sutton Wharf Boatyard | Rochford, River Roach | On request | 45.7m (150ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sutton Wharf Boatyard | Rochford, River Roach | On request | 24.4m (80ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 20 marinas for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £435 a year at Maldon District Council Blackwater Moorings to £6,067 a year at Ipswich Beacon Marina. The middle figure is £3,396 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Maldon District Council Blackwater Moorings is cheapest at £435 a year.
6 of the 30 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Broads Marina (Wayford Bridge), Brundall Gardens Marina, Cathedral Marina, Hazlemere Marina, Norfolk Boat Sales Marina (Wroxham) and Reedham Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 30 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Broads Marina (Wayford Bridge) (14m (46ft)), Brundall Gardens Marina (19.8m (65ft)), Cathedral Marina (21.3m (70ft)), Hazlemere Marina (18.3m (60ft)), Norfolk Boat Sales Marina (Wroxham) (13.7m (45ft)), Reedham Marina (18.3m (60ft)), Fox Narrowboats Marina (21.3m (70ft)), Greenway Marine (12.2m (40ft)) and 22 more. Check beam and draught too.
2 of the 30 say you can: Hazlemere Marina (residential moorings with planning consent) and Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation (liveaboard by arrangement). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence, 2 need Environment Agency registration (Thames, Medway, Anglian waterways), 8 need Broads Authority tolls and 4 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability