Causewayend
Broxburn, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Places that take widebeams. Canal boats over 7ft beam.
4 sites · typical £5,154 a year for a 60ft widebeam (£4,905–£9,090 across 3 published tariffs)
Licence: Scottish Canals. About licences
Broxburn, West Lothian · Union Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Ratho, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£4,905 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Winchburgh, West Lothian · Union Canal
£4,895 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Course, length and connections from OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).
| Site | Where | A year, 60ft widebeam | Space |
|---|---|---|---|
| Causewayend | Broxburn, Union Canal | – | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £9,090 | Not reported |
| Ratho Marina | Ratho, Union Canal | £4,905 | Not reported |
| Winchburgh Marina | Winchburgh, Union Canal | £5,154 | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 3 widebeam moorings here that publish a price, a 60ft widebeam costs from £4,905 a year at Ratho Marina to £9,090 a year at Lochrin Basin. The middle figure is £5,154 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 60ft widebeam, Ratho Marina is cheapest at £4,905 a year.
None of the 4 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
2 of the 4 say you can: Causewayend (liveaboards allowed) and Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 4 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability