Pile moorings for boats over 20m

Fore-and-aft between piles driven into the river bed; tender needed. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 20m (65ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.

4 sites · typical £5,620 a year for a 20m boat (£5,620–£5,620 across 1 published tariffs)

At a glance

Estuaries & tidal rivers Full

Blackwall Basin Moorings

London, Greater London · Blackwall Basin

Prices on request

Seen on their website 8 days ago · Liveaboard

Estuaries & tidal rivers

Gosport Marina

Gosport, Hampshire · Portsmouth Harbour

£2,810 a year for a 10m yacht

Estuaries & tidal rivers

Swanwick Marina

Southampton, Hampshire · River Hamble

£3,500 a year for a 10m yacht

Compared: prices for a 20m boat

SiteWhereA year, 20m boatBerthsLongest boatWidest beamDeepest draughtSpace
Blackwall Basin MooringsLondon, Blackwall BasinOn requestpontoon berths, pile moorings38m (125ft)––Full
Gosport MarinaGosport, Portsmouth Harbour£5,620pontoon berths, pile moorings22m (72ft)––Not reported
Swanwick MarinaSouthampton, River Hamble–pontoon berths, pile moorings, dry stack22m (72ft)––Not reported
National Trust Addlestone MooringsAddlestone, River Wey Navigation–linear moorings, pile moorings21.9m (72ft)––Not reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

Which pile moorings for boats over 20m in the UK have space now?

None of the 4 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.

Where can I keep a boat over 20m (66ft) in the UK?

All 4 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Blackwall Basin Moorings (38m (125ft)), Gosport Marina (22m (72ft)), Swanwick Marina (22m (72ft)) and National Trust Addlestone Moorings (21.9m (72ft)). Check beam and draught too.

Can you live aboard at pile moorings for boats over 20m in the UK?

1 of the 4 say you can: Blackwall Basin Moorings (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence and 1 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability