Kirkintilloch Linear
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Berths with shore power, so you can run heating and charge batteries without the engine.
14 sites · typical £3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat (£1,798–£3,595 across 12 published tariffs)
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,042 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,595 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£2,389 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£2,794 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,352 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,477 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,054 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,798 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£1,936 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
| Site | Distance | A year, 57ft narrowboat | Electric hook-up | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kirkintilloch Linear | 0km north-west | £3,042 | Yes | Not reported |
| Southbank Marina | 0.1km south-west | £3,595 | Yes | Not reported |
| Cadder Wharf | 4.1km south-west | £2,389 | Yes | Not reported |
| Auchinstarry Marina | 7.3km north-east | £3,054 | Yes | Not reported |
| Panmure Wharf, Firhill | 9.3km south-west | £2,794 | Yes | Not reported |
| Applecross Claypits | 9.4km south-west | £3,104 | Yes | Not reported |
| Applecross Wharf | 9.4km south-west | £3,352 | Yes | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | 9.7km south-west | £3,104 | Yes | Not reported |
| Temple Wharf - Lock 27 | 11.3km south-west | £3,477 | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Basin | 20.6km east | £3,054 | Yes | Not reported |
| The Falkirk Wheel Linear | 20.9km east | £1,798 | Yes | Not reported |
| Lock 16 Moorings | 22.3km east | £1,936 | Yes | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | 20.3km west | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Sandpoint Marina | 25.5km west | – | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 12 moorings with electric hook-up here that publish a price, a 57ft narrowboat costs from £1,798 a year at The Falkirk Wheel Linear to £3,595 a year at Southbank Marina. The middle figure is £3,054 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 57ft narrowboat, The Falkirk Wheel Linear is cheapest at £1,798 a year.
None of the 14 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
Kirkintilloch Linear, 0km north-west of the centre of Kirkintilloch, on the Forth & Clyde Canal.
7 of the 14 say you can: Southbank Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Auchinstarry Marina (residential moorings with planning consent), Panmure Wharf, Firhill (liveaboards allowed), Applecross Claypits (residential moorings with planning consent), Applecross Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent), Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent) and Temple Wharf - Lock 27 (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 13 need a Scottish Canals licence and 1 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability