James Watt Marina
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those.
9 sites · typical £3,616 a year for a 12m boat (£1,650–£6,132 across 8 published tariffs)
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Rhu, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£5,110 a year for a 10m yacht
Helensburgh, Argyll and Bute · Gare Loch
£2,592 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Glasgow, Glasgow City · Forth & Clyde Canal
£3,104 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
£2,389 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute · Firth of Clyde
£4,440 a year for a 10m yacht
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
| Site | Distance | A year, 12m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| James Watt Marina | 9.7km west | £3,816 | 100m (328ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Rhu Marina | 14.9km north-west | £6,132 | 36m (118ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club | 15.7km north-west | £3,156 | 13.7m (45ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | 19.3km west | £5,544 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Speirs Wharf | 21km east | £3,104 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Cadder Wharf | 22.4km east | £1,650 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Holy Loch Marina | 23.8km west | £5,328 | 13m (43ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Sandpoint Marina | 0.4km south-east | – | 24.3m (80ft) | – | – | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | 5.8km east | £3,415 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 8 marinas for boats over 12m here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £1,650 a year at Cadder Wharf to £6,132 a year at Rhu Marina. The middle figure is £3,616 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Cadder Wharf is cheapest at £1,650 a year in Bishopbriggs.
None of the 9 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.
All 9 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: James Watt Marina (100m (328ft)), Rhu Marina (36m (118ft)), Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club (13.7m (45ft)), Kip Marina (24m (79ft)), Speirs Wharf (19m (62ft)), Cadder Wharf (19m (62ft)), Holy Loch Marina (13m (43ft)), Sandpoint Marina (24.3m (80ft)) and 1 more. Check beam and draught too.
Sandpoint Marina, 0.4km south-east of the centre of Dumbarton, on the River Leven.
1 of the 9 say you can: Speirs Wharf (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 3 need a Scottish Canals licence and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability