Marinas for boats over 12m with a pump-out in Suffolk

Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Sites with a pump-out for holding tanks, so you can empty without cruising to a service point.

3 sites · typical £4,133 a year for a 12m boat (£3,000–£6,067 across 3 published tariffs)

At a glance

Broads, lakes & lochs

Hippersons Boatyard

Beccles, Suffolk · River Waveney

£2,475 a year for a 10m cruiser

Estuaries & tidal rivers

Ipswich Beacon Marina

Ipswich, Suffolk · River Orwell

£5,056 a year for a 10m yacht

Estuaries & tidal rivers

Woolverstone Marina

Woolverstone, Suffolk · River Orwell

£3,444 a year for a 10m yacht

Compared: prices for a 12m boat

SiteWhereA year, 12m boatLongest boatWidest beamDeepest draughtPump-outSpace
Hippersons BoatyardBeccles, River Waveney£3,00012.2m (40ft)––YesNot reported
Ipswich Beacon MarinaIpswich, River Orwell£6,06720m (66ft)––YesNot reported
Woolverstone MarinaWoolverstone, River Orwell£4,13324m (79ft)––YesNot reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

How much does a mooring for a 12m boat cost in Suffolk?

Across the 3 marinas for boats over 12m with a pump-out here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £3,000 a year at Hippersons Boatyard to £6,067 a year at Ipswich Beacon Marina. The middle figure is £4,133 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.

What are the cheapest marinas for boats over 12m with a pump-out in Suffolk?

For a 12m boat, Hippersons Boatyard is cheapest at £3,000 a year in Beccles.

Which marinas for boats over 12m with a pump-out in Suffolk have space now?

None of the 3 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.

Where can I keep a boat over 12m (39ft) in Suffolk?

All 3 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Hippersons Boatyard (12.2m (40ft)), Ipswich Beacon Marina (20m (66ft)) and Woolverstone Marina (24m (79ft)). Check beam and draught too.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need Broads Authority tolls. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Marinas for boats over 12m with a pump-out in nearby counties

Marinas for boats over 12m with a pump-out in the wider area

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability