Monk Meadow
Hempsted, Gloucestershire · Gloucester & Sharpness Canal
£2,474 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 20m (65ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Sites with locked pontoon or site gates, or CCTV, for peace of mind when you're away from the boat.
9 sites · 2 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £11,180 a year for a 20m boat (£5,392–£16,700 across 7 published tariffs)
Hempsted, Gloucestershire · Gloucester & Sharpness Canal
£2,474 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Falmouth, Cornwall · Falmouth Harbour
£4,800 a year for a 10m yacht
Poole, Dorset · Poole Harbour
Prices not published
Bristol, Bristol · Bristol City Docks Floating Harbour
£3,551 a year for a 10m yacht
Dartmouth, Devon · River Dart
£8,350 a year for a 10m yacht
Kingswear, Devon · River Dart
£3,240 a year for a 10m yacht
Plymouth, Devon · Plymouth Sound, Millbay
£5,590 a year for a 10m yacht
Plymouth, Devon · Plymouth Sound
£5,920 a year for a 10m yacht
Saltford, Somerset · River Avon
£2,696 a year for a 10m cruiser
| Site | Where | A year, 20m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Secure gated access / CCTV | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monk Meadow | Hempsted, Gloucester & Sharpness Canal | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Port Pendennis Marina | Falmouth, Falmouth Harbour | £12,000 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Salterns Marina | Poole, Poole Harbour | – | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Yes | Waiting list |
| Bristol Marina | Bristol, Bristol City Docks Floating Harbour | £7,101 | 21m (69ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Dart Marina | Dartmouth, River Dart | £16,700 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Darthaven Marina | Kingswear, River Dart | £6,480 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| King Point Marina | Plymouth, Plymouth Sound, Millbay | £11,180 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Mayflower Marina | Plymouth, Plymouth Sound | £11,840 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Saltford Marina | Saltford, River Avon | £5,392 | 21.9m (72ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 7 marinas for boats over 20m with gated access or CCTV here that publish a price, a 20m boat costs from £5,392 a year at Saltford Marina to £16,700 a year at Dart Marina. The middle figure is £11,180 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 20m boat, Saltford Marina is cheapest at £5,392 a year.
2 of the 9 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Monk Meadow and Port Pendennis Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 9 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Monk Meadow (20m (66ft)), Port Pendennis Marina (25m (82ft)), Salterns Marina (25m (82ft)), Bristol Marina (21m (69ft)), Dart Marina (20m (66ft)), Darthaven Marina (20m (66ft)), King Point Marina (25m (82ft)), Mayflower Marina (20m (66ft)) and 1 more. Check beam and draught too.
2 of the 9 say you can: Bristol Marina (liveaboard by arrangement) and Saltford Marina (liveaboards allowed). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Canal & River Trust boat licence and 1 need an Avon Navigation Trust licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability