Small boat moorings for boats over 24m in Scotland

Places that take small boats. Dinghies, day boats and RIBs. Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 24m (80ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Large yacht berths are few and often booked well ahead, so ask early.

3 sites · typical £7,656 a year for a 24m boat (£6,500–£11,088 across 3 published tariffs)

At a glance

Canals

Fort Augustus

Fort Augustus, Highland · Caledonian Canal

£4,704 a year for a 57ft narrowboat

Coast & harbours

Kip Marina

Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde

£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht

Coast & harbours

Tarbert Harbour

Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne

£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht

Compared: prices for a 24m boat

SiteWhereA year, 24m boatLongest boatWidest beamDeepest draughtSpace
Fort AugustusFort Augustus, Caledonian Canal£6,50045m (148ft)––Not reported
Kip MarinaInverkip, Firth of Clyde£11,08824m (79ft)––Not reported
Tarbert HarbourTarbert, Loch Fyne£7,65630m (98ft)––Not reported

From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.

Questions

How much does a mooring for a 24m boat cost in Scotland?

Across the 3 small boat moorings for boats over 24m here that publish a price, a 24m boat costs from £6,500 a year at Fort Augustus to £11,088 a year at Kip Marina. The middle figure is £7,656 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.

What are the cheapest small boat moorings for boats over 24m in Scotland?

For a 24m boat, Fort Augustus is cheapest at £6,500 a year.

Which small boat moorings for boats over 24m in Scotland have space now?

None of the 3 has told us in the last six weeks that it has space. We ask every site regularly; the list above updates as they reply.

Where can I keep a boat over 24m (79ft) in Scotland?

All 3 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Fort Augustus (45m (148ft)), Kip Marina (24m (79ft)) and Tarbert Harbour (30m (98ft)). Check beam and draught too.

Do I need a licence as well as a mooring?

On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Scottish Canals licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.

Broader

Small boat moorings for boats over 24m in other areas

Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability