Kilmelford Yacht Haven
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 15m (50ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Sites with locked pontoon or site gates, or CCTV, for peace of mind when you're away from the boat.
11 sites · 3 with space now · typical £6,863 a year for a 15m boat (£1,210–£9,300 across 8 published tariffs)
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute · Loch Melfort
Prices not published
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Wick, Highland · North Sea
Prices not published
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Girvan, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£807 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Kirkwall, Orkney Islands · Kirkwall Harbour
£6,204 a year for a 10m yacht
Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh · Union Canal
£8,633 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Stromness, Orkney Islands · Stromness Harbour
£6,012 a year for a 10m yacht
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 15m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Secure gated access / CCTV | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kilmelford Yacht Haven | Kilmelford, Loch Melfort | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Port Bannatyne Marina | Port Bannatyne, Kyles of Bute | £5,995 | 16.5m (54ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Wick Marina | Wick, North Sea | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £6,795 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Girvan Harbour | Girvan, Firth of Clyde | £1,210 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £4,770 | 100m (328ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £6,930 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Kirkwall Marina | Kirkwall, Kirkwall Harbour | £9,300 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochrin Basin | Edinburgh, Union Canal | £7,455 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Stromness Marina | Stromness, Stromness Harbour | £9,018 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Sandpoint Marina | Dumbarton, River Leven | – | 24.3m (80ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 8 marinas for boats over 15m with gated access or CCTV here that publish a price, a 15m boat costs from £1,210 a year at Girvan Harbour to £9,300 a year at Kirkwall Marina. The middle figure is £6,863 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 15m boat, Girvan Harbour is cheapest at £1,210 a year.
3 of the 11 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Kilmelford Yacht Haven, Port Bannatyne Marina and Wick Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 11 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Kilmelford Yacht Haven (20m (66ft)), Port Bannatyne Marina (16.5m (54ft)), Wick Marina (20m (66ft)), Clyde Marina (25m (82ft)), Girvan Harbour (17m (56ft)), James Watt Marina (100m (328ft)), Kip Marina (24m (79ft)), Kirkwall Marina (20m (66ft)) and 3 more. Check beam and draught too.
2 of the 11 say you can: Girvan Harbour (liveaboard by arrangement) and Lochrin Basin (residential moorings with planning consent). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 1 need a Scottish Canals licence and 2 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability