Port Bannatyne Marina
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Marinas and harbours that say they take boats over 12m (40ft): a stated maximum length, or a published price for a boat that size. Canal sites that only take narrowboats are left out; see 70ft narrowboat moorings for those. Sites that can lift your boat out on their own hoist or crane, for blacking, antifouling, surveys and winter ashore.
12 sites · 1 with space now · 1 with a waiting list · typical £3,616 a year for a 12m boat (£124–£5,676 across 10 published tariffs)
Port Bannatyne, Argyll and Bute · Kyles of Bute
£3,997 a year for a 10m yacht
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire · North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour
Prices not published
Ardrossan, North Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,530 a year for a 10m yacht
Eyemouth, Scottish Borders · Eyemouth Harbour
£103 a year for a 10m yacht
Greenock, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£3,180 a year for a 10m yacht
Falkirk, Falkirk · Forth & Clyde Canal
£273 a year for a 57ft narrowboat
Inverkip, Inverclyde · Firth of Clyde
£4,620 a year for a 10m yacht
Lochboisdale, Na h-Eileanan Siar · Lochboisdale
£2,103 a year for a 10m yacht
Tarbert, Argyll and Bute · Loch Fyne
£1,680 a year for a 10m yacht
Troon, South Ayrshire · Firth of Clyde
£4,730 a year for a 10m yacht
Bowling, West Dunbartonshire · Forth & Clyde Canal
Prices not published
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire · River Leven
Prices not published
| Site | Where | A year, 12m boat | Longest boat | Widest beam | Deepest draught | Boat hoist / Crane | Space |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Port Bannatyne Marina | Port Bannatyne, Kyles of Bute | £4,796 | 16.5m (54ft) | – | – | Yes | Berths available |
| Stonehaven Harbour | Stonehaven, North Sea, Stonehaven Harbour | – | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Waiting list |
| Clyde Marina | Ardrossan, Firth of Clyde | £5,436 | 25m (82ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Eyemouth Harbour | Eyemouth, Eyemouth Harbour | £124 | 20m (66ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| James Watt Marina | Greenock, Firth of Clyde | £3,816 | 100m (328ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Kelpies Marina | Falkirk, Forth & Clyde Canal | £273 | 19m (62ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Kip Marina | Inverkip, Firth of Clyde | £5,544 | 24m (79ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Lochboisdale Harbour | Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale | £2,523 | 18m (59ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Tarbert Harbour | Tarbert, Loch Fyne | £1,680 | 30m (98ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Troon Yacht Haven | Troon, Firth of Clyde | £5,676 | 13.5m (44ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Bowling Lower Basin | Bowling, Forth & Clyde Canal | £3,415 | 17m (56ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
| Sandpoint Marina | Dumbarton, River Leven | – | 24.3m (80ft) | – | – | Yes | Not reported |
From each site's published tariff. "–" means the site doesn't say. Prices change; confirm with the site.
Across the 10 marinas for boats over 12m with a boat hoist or crane here that publish a price, a 12m boat costs from £124 a year at Eyemouth Harbour to £5,676 a year at Troon Yacht Haven. The middle figure is £3,616 a year. Check what each includes: electricity, water and VAT vary.
For a 12m boat, Eyemouth Harbour is cheapest at £124 a year.
1 of the 12 told us in the last six weeks they have space: Port Bannatyne Marina. Each page shows the date they told us and what they have.
All 12 say they take a boat that long. Stated maximums: Port Bannatyne Marina (16.5m (54ft)), Stonehaven Harbour (20m (66ft)), Clyde Marina (25m (82ft)), Eyemouth Harbour (20m (66ft)), James Watt Marina (100m (328ft)), Kelpies Marina (19m (62ft)), Kip Marina (24m (79ft)), Lochboisdale Harbour (18m (59ft)) and 4 more. Check beam and draught too.
1 of the 12 say you can: Kelpies Marina (liveaboards allowed). Living aboard can need planning consent and council tax; ask each site about its terms.
On top of the mooring fee: of these, 2 need a Scottish Canals licence and 1 need the navigation's own licence. Coastal marinas usually need none.
Run one of these sites? Tell boaters what you have free in a minute, no account needed. Update your availability